Research Guides: Economics Subject Guide: Find materials

Journal articles

Journal article databases

The latest scholarly research in Economics is published in relevant disciplinary journals. The following subject databases will be particularly useful in searching this journal literature:

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business research database with coverage of thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, and trade publications.
Click here for User Guide

Dates covered: 1971 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: ProQuest
Full text: Some
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly business database that provides full-text content covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Dates covered: 1886 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: EBSCOhost
Full text: Yes
EconLit This link opens in a new window
This database is published by the American Economic Association, and covers virtually every area related to economics, including both theory and application.
Examples of use:
// Investigate the effect of technological change on economic growth
// Examine capital markets in specific countries
// Investigate trends in financial planning, retirement, and pension programs
Dates covered: 1969 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: ProQuest
Full text: Some

Complete list of the Library's Economics databases

Country analysis

Country information

The following databases and Internet resources will help you to find country information:

Library databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides reports on country data, country finance & forecast, country industry forecast, country economic forecast published by Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) (part of the Economist Group that publishes the Economist magazine) or Oxford Economics.
On the top menu bar, click "Browse" and scroll down to the Country Reports section to look for country reports by location or topic.
Click here for User Guide

Dates covered: 1971 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: ProQuest
Full text: Some
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides country profiles from various sources.
Dates covered: 1886 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: EBSCOhost
Full text: Yes

Internet resources

Nation Master
A great tool for country comparisons across a huge range of topics, including crime statistics, agriculture, disasters, and lifestyle. It pulls data from sources like the CIA World Fact Book and the UN and OECD.
globalEDGE
Developed by Michigan State University's Center for International Business Education and Research (MSU-CIBER), globalEDGE provides access to international business and trade information, economic trends, and an index to information resources.
Library of Congress: Country Studies
Prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress, the series is comprised of books, each examining a different foreign country. Each book looks at the particular country's history, society and environment, economy, government and politics, and national security. Most of the books have not been updated recently, but provide relevant background and historical information.

Economic news

Business & economic news

Leading business and economics magazines & newspapers


BBC Business News	Bloomberg	The Economist	Financial Times	The New York Times (NYT)	Nikkei Asia	Reuters	The Wall Street Journal	Yahoo Finance
Free online	Full-text available via Business Source Complete	Full-text available via ABI/INFORM Collection	Full-text available via ABI/INFORM Collection	Full-text available via Library subscription to the NYT website	Full-text available via Library subscription to Nikkei Asia website	Reuters Newswire is available via Factiva	Full-text available via Factiva	Free online

Library databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business research database with coverage of thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, and trade publications.
Examples:
\\ The Wall Street Journal, The Economist, Fast Company, Financial Times, Maclean’s, U.S. News & World Report,
Women’s Wear Daily (WWD)
Click here for User Guide

Dates covered: 1971 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: ProQuest
Full text: Some
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly business database that provides full-text content covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Examples:
\\ Bloomberg.com, Entrepreneur magazine, Fortune, Fast Company
Dates covered: 1886 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: EBSCOhost
Full text: Yes
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Combines over 30,000 sources and includes information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more.
Examples:
\\ Newspapers (e.g. SCMP, The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Times, The Wall Street Journal, El Pais, The Financial Times, The Guardian, etc.)
\\ Magazines and trade publications (e.g. Forbes, Newsweek, etc.)
\\ Newswires (e.g. AFP, Reuters, Dow Jones, etc.)
Note that Factive only allows 5 concurrent users at a time.
Click here for User Guide

Dates covered: Varied
Concurrent users: 5
Provider: Dow Jones
Full text: Yes
Nikkei Asia This link opens in a new window
Note: Our subscription provides an option to register an account. This will allow you to access the Nikkei Asia website wherever you are, and also allows you to use the mobile app. If you prefer not to create an account, you can use your HKBU SSOid to login with more limited access to features.

Provides news and insights on the region’s most influential companies, plus comprehensive coverage of politics, the economy, markets and trends from a uniquely Asian perspective.
Dates covered: Varies
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Nikkei Inc.

Internet resources

BBC Business News
The latest BBC Business News: breaking personal finance, company, financial and economic news, plus insight and analysis into UK and global markets.
Reuters
The latest news from around the world, covering breaking news in markets, business, politics, entertainment, technology, video, and more.
Yahoo Finance
free stock quotes, up-to-date news, portfolio management resources, international market data, social interaction, and mortgage rates.
MarketWatch
Provides the latest stock market, financial, and business news.

Research methods

Sage Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window
This collection of hundreds of streaming videos covers every aspect of the research process.
Click here for User Guide

Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Sage Publications

Resources beyond HKBU Library

Can't find the full text of an article?

Unfortunately, the Library cannot subscribe to every journal in the world. If you find a useful article that we cannot access, you can make an Interlibrary Loan request. We will get a copy for you from one of our partner libraries. This is a free service for eligible users!

Access the online Interlibrary Loan system

Need a book that we don't have?

The Library has a huge number of books in its collection, but we do not have every book ever written. Eligible users can use the HKALL service to borrow books from other UGC-funded libraries in Hong Kong.

Search HKALL

Other guides

Need help

Need help with database searching?

Contact the librarian below:

Librarian

Maggie Wong

Email me

Contact:

AML Library (Main Library)

3411-2178

Subjects: Accounting, China Business, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, General Management, Human Resources Management, Information Systems Management, Legal Studies, Marketing, Organizational Communication

Economics Subject Guide: Find materials

Journal articles

Journal article databases

Country analysis

Country information

Library databases

Internet resources

Economic news

Business & economic news

Leading business and economics magazines & newspapers

Library databases

Internet resources

Research methods

Research methods

Resources beyond HKBU Library

Resources beyond HKBU Library

Other guides

You may also like:

Need help

Need help with database searching?

Contact the librarian below:

Librarian