Research Guides: Economics Subject Guide: Find background Information

Reference sources

Finding background information

When you are new to a topic, library-subscribed reference sources can help you define key terms and gain a general understanding. These are similar to Wikipedia, except that they are more authoritative. You can use such sources in your assignments with confidence.

Here are some reference sources that are relevant to Economics:

Encyclopedia Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Articles in the Encyclopedia Britannica are written by notable experts, providing balanced, global perspectives and unique insights. Also includes Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
You can find topic information such as econometrics (economic analysis), financial agency theory, international economics, etc.
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc.
Full-text: Yes

Credo Reference Topic Page: Economics
Credo Reference collects together a wide range of electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Their topic page on Economics is a good starting point for researching related topics.
You can find topic information such as game theory, financial economics, econometrics, etc.

More Library-subscribed reference works

A Dictionary of Economics by Black, John
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780191819940
Publication Date: 2017
This dictionary is from the Oxford Reference Online database.

Internet resource

Economics A-Z
Available on The Economist website, Economics A-Z is adapted from "Essential Economics", by Matthew Bishop - Bloomberg Press; Economist Books.

Books

The Library has hundreds of thousands of books, both online and in print. They range from introductory texts to in-depth scholarly studies of specialized topics. Search our vast collection with OneSearch.

Access OneSearch

Tips for using OneSearch to find books:

Filter your results so that only books appear in the results list
Limit your search to the subject field to increase relevancy

Quick guide to OneSearch

Recommended book

Here are some highlights from the Library's book collection relevant to Econimics:

International Economics by James Gerber
ISBN: 9781292214221
Publication Date: 2018
Global Edition
Microeconomics by Michae Parkin
ISBN: 9781292094649
Publication Date: 2016
12th Edition
Global shift : mapping the changing contours of the world economy by Peter Dicken
Call Number: 338.09 D553G 2015
ISBN: 9781462519552
Publication Date: 2015
7th Edition