Skip to main content
Hong Kong Baptist University Hong Kong Baptist University Library
 

E-Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & More

Fast access to the Library's high-quality electronic reference sources for quick definition, background information, and more.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Academic

​Encyclopædia Britannica is the oldest English-language general encyclopaedia. This online version provides a combination of content from Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and other handy research tools such as "Compare Countries" and "This Day in History". 

Credo

Credo Reference allows you to search across a wide range of electronic reference materials (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) covering all subject areas.

TIPThis is a great place to get a quick overview of a topic or concept (e.g. digital divide), especially when starting an assignment! 

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online provides a 1-stop gateway to reference works published by the Oxford University Press, including dictionaries, companions, and encyclopedias, spanning 25 different subject areas. 

Cambridge Companions Online

The Cambridge Companions series provides theme-based collections of authoritative guides written by leading subject experts.

The Library's subscription includes: Music; Philosophy, Religion, and Culture; Literature and Classics.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers contemporary social and political issues, such as terrorism, stem cell research, and gun control, by presenting evidence for both sides of the debate, in the form of academic articles, primary sources, statistics, and viewpoint essays.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

The Oxford Bibliographies Online were collaboratively developed by scholars and librarians from around the world. These cutting-edge resources combine the best of annotated bibliographies and high-level encyclopedias to guide users to the best scholarship available in their subject.

The Library's subscription includes: American Literature, British and Irish Literature, Chinese Studies, Communication, International Relations, Linguistics, and Political Science.

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks logoGale eBooks provides encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.