Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hong Kong Baptist University Hong Kong Baptist University Library
 

Google Scholar: Home

Helping researchers and authors make the most of Google Scholar.

What is Google Scholar?

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar searches and indexes scholarly literature on the web, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. While other specialized tools such as the Library's OneSearch platform and the Library's many subscribed databases are usually the preferred method for searching the scholarly literature, some researchers prefer the simplicity and familiarity of a Google Scholar search.

Ensuring that you get as many full text results as possible in Google Scholar

It is important to remember that Google Scholar is simply a search tool - it won't give you the full text (unless the full text is free). If you do use Google Scholar, you should make sure that you are benefiting from the Library's subscriptions.

A Google Scholar session performed on-campus will automatically link to full text available at the Library - no further action is needed.

If you start a research session from off-campus, you need to set up Google Scholar to direct you to HKBU Library's subscriptions. The instructions below show how to do this.

Enable Library Links on Scholar

Enable Library Links on Scholar

Five steps to enable Library links in Google Scholar from your own computer:


1. Go to Google Scholar at https://scholar.google.com

2. Select "Settings":

 

3. In the settings menu, clink on "Library Links":

Click on "Library Links"

 

4. Search for "Hong Kong Baptist University":

 

5. Select "Hong Kong Baptist University Library (Alma) - Check fulltext@HKBU ALMA", and then click save:

Select "HKBU Library Alma" and click save


After completing the above one-time procedure, you will see an HKBU Library link appear next to Google Scholar search results where the full text is available from the Library. Click the link to access the full text - you will need to login with your HKBU SSOid in the same way as other cases when you access the Library's e-resources from off-campus: