Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hong Kong Baptist University Hong Kong Baptist University Library
 

E-resources Discovery Week @ HKBU Library 2021: Online Workshops

1 - 5 March 2021, HKBU Library via Zoom

Attend workshops via Zoom can get chances to the Grand Prize Draw! 

The more activities you complete, the more chances you have to win the Grand Prize!

All HKBU Faculty, Staff and Students are welcome to join the online events! (Please note that only current HKBU students are eligible for the prize draw)

Registration Here

or scan the QR code below

 *Attendees will receive an e-certificate of attendance as long as they join an online session with at least 40 minutes duration.

Date Time Topic Speaker(s) Description Related Database(s)
Mar 1 (Monday) 10:30 – 11:30 am

Oxford Bibliographies: Your Best Research Starts Here

Ms. Chen Zhou (Oxford University Press) What to read first? This one-hour workshop will provide insights into the development of Oxford Bibliographies, including insider information on how this transformative source is published. Guidance will also be provided on how you can use this online resource more efficiently. Oxford Bibliographies
2:30 – 3:30 pm

萬方數據之中國學位論文全文數據庫及萬方視頻之臺灣公共電視紀錄片系列

Mr. Louis Chan (WangFang Data) 簡介中國學位論文全文數據庫的內容和操作、萬方視頻平台的使用和性質,以及詳細介紹臺灣公共電視的背景和紀錄片內容。

中國學位論文全文數據庫

萬方視頻 – 臺灣公共電視紀錄片

Mar 2 (Tuesday) 10:30 – 11:30 am

Where to find company information and other high-quality business publications with EBSCO?

Mr. Evan Shih (EBSCO) This online session will introduce Business Source Ultimate, a comprehensive scholarly business database that provides full-text content covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Business Source Ultimate
2:00 – 3:30 pm

Empowering Research through ProQuest Newspapers & Authoritative ebook at your fingertips

(Newspapers)

(ebook)

Mr. Alan Tang (ProQuest) 1a. Role of ProQuest Newspapers as primary sources
1b. HKBU News resources from ProQuest
1c. Tips and tricks for searching and displaying newspaper content
2a. Browse, search, and use materials in Ebook Central
2b. Utilize online reader and bookshelf functions
2c. Perform downloads from Ebook Central

ProQuest Newspapers Databases

ProQuest Ebook Central

4:00 – 5:00 pm

How to get your target materials efficiently with SpringerLink?

Ms. Melinda Luk (Springer Nature) During the online workshop, you will learn:
(1) What information is available on SpringerLink?
(2) Tips on finding what you need
(3) Question and Answer session
Springer Link
Mar 3 (Wednesday) 10:30 – 11:30 am

HyRead 電子書線上Fun心學

Ms. Annie Lu (HyRead) HyRead電子書基本介紹 :
– 平台收錄內容簡介
– 如何閱讀浸會HyRead電子書
– 電腦、手機平板介面使用簡介
HyRead ebook
2:30 – 3:30 pm

中國知網: 中文文獻檢索及統計資源數據分析

Mr. Patrick Zhu (CNKI) 1. 簡介HKBU’s CNKI已訂購數據庫及其研究價值
2. 如何提高檢索效率與質量
3. 中國經濟社會大數據平台介紹及應用
CNKI Databases
4:00 – 5:00 pm

How to facilitate your research with Scopus?

Ms. Joan Yin (Elsevier) 1. Strengths of Scopus
2. How to use Scopus to facilitate your research:
– Information gathering for research topics and proposal
– Tracking research progress
– Article publishing support
Scopus
Mar 4 (Thursday) 10:30 – 11:30 am

Making the most out of your Wiley journals!

Ms. Alejandra Barciela (Wiley) How to access Wiley journals
What are the resources available?
How can journals help me with my goals?
How to run a search, basic and advanced
How to set up content alerts
How to submit your manuscript to a journal
How to cite, share and download content
Wiley Online Library
2:30 – 3:30 pm

香島舊影——上海圖書館《全國報刊索引》近代報刊數字資源

王之穎 / 王晶 (Shanghai Library) 本次工作坊將描述上海圖書館近代文獻館藏特色和數字化情況,介紹數據庫中蘊含的知名晚清、民國時期的期刊和報紙。通過近代香港出版期刊拾萃和案例分析,了解如何更好地使用上圖數據庫進行研究。 中文期刊全文數據庫 (民國時期) / 晚清期刊全文數據庫
4:00 – 5:00 pm

Your Next Big Idea –using Web of Science to kick off your research project

Ms. Li Ying (Clarivate Analytics) 1. Identify research fronts and hot topics in your research fields.
2. Comprehensively analyze existing information to grasp the development direction and trends of research topics.
3. Select appropriate and high-impact journals to publish research outputs with Web of Science.
4. Enhance your research impact and learn about peer review.
5. One-click access to research papers with EndNote Click, and create your personal library and efficiently manage documents with EndNote online.
6. Improve the efficiency of article writing and submission, and efficiently organize the format of your paper.
Web of Science
Mar 5 (Friday) 10:30 – 11:30 am

Gale Primary Sources: Where the past meets the present

Mr. Morisawa Masaki (Gale) Covering a wide range of full-text primary source content from human sexuality to declassified U.S. government documents, Gale Primary Sources is a powerful platform with rich content and robust analytical tools. E-reference resources by Gale will also be covered. Gale Primary Sources
2:30 - 3:30 pm

華藝線上圖書館以及中文電子書利用課程

(電子書)

(線上圖書館)

Ms. Linda Ku (Airiti) 介紹如何利用華藝線上圖書館以及中文電子書平台搜尋期刊文獻以及電子書內容。 華藝線上圖書館
4:00 – 5:00 pm

SAGE Video: Bringing teaching, learning and research to life

Mr. Da Huo (SAGE) – SAGE video introduction and highlights
– Live demonstration of SAGE Video
– Tips on exploiting SAGE Videos to facilitate teaching, learning and research
Sage Videos