Research Guides: Research Preparation for Social Work Honours Project: Find Background Information

Reference sources

Finding background information on your research topic

When you are new to a topic, library-subscribed reference sources can help you define key terms and gain a general understanding. These are similar to Wikipedia, except that they are more authoritative. You can use such sources in your assignments with confidence.

Encyclopedia Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Articles in the Encyclopedia Britannica are written by notable experts, providing balanced, global perspectives and unique insights. Also includes Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc.
Full-text: Yes
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of general reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) covering all subject areas. Easy to search for a word or concept, and also has major topic pages.
Dates covered:: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Credo
Full text: Yes

More Library-subscribed reference works

Books

The Library has hundreds of thousands of books, both online and in print. They range from introductory texts to in-depth scholarly studies of specialized topics. Search our vast collection with OneSearch.

Access OneSearch

Tips for using OneSearch to find books:

Filter your results so that only books appear in the results list
Limit your search to the subject field to increase relevancy

Detailed Guide to OneSearch