Research Guides: MUS7260 Research Methods in Music: Key Resources

Journal databases

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive music bibliography of over 760,000 records covering traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Journal articles, books, conference papers, and more are indexed. The full text of more than 200 periodicals is included.
Dates covered: Early 20th Century - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: EBSCOhost
Full-text: Some
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals covering all aspects of music, including music education, instruments, various musical genres, music therapy, ethnomusicology, and more.
Dates covered: 1874 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: ProQuest
Full-text: Some
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to the music periodical literature, covering both classical and popular music.
Dates covered: 1970 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: EBSCOhost
Full-text: Some
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center is the largest education database in the world, indexing all types of educational literature from journal articles to research reports.
Note that the content in all versions of ERIC is identical.

Dates covered: 1966 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: EBSCOhost
Full-text: Some
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. Subject coverage spans the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Dates covered: 1975 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: EBSCOhost
Full text: Some

Books

Looking for books on your topic? Go to OneSearch

Simply enter some keywords into the search box similar what you do on Google. AND, don't forget to use the magical asterisk * and related terms/synonymns. Using various combinations of words may produce very different search results. Here is a life demo!

Reference

Reference & Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Leading online reference work for music research, covering all aspects of music.
Formerly known as Grove Music Online and includes all content from that resource.

Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: 6
Provider: Oxford University Press
Full-text: Yes
Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Brings together over 40,000 pages of essential reference materials covering the entire history of Western classical music.
Dates covered: 1985 - 2010
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Alexander Street
Full-text: Yes
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online reference work covering music research of all the world’s peoples. Includes over 9,000 pages of materials contributed by 700 international experts. Written entries are complemented by hundreds of audio examples.
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Alexander Street Press
Full-text: Yes

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians by Nicolas Slonimsky
Call Number: R 780.922 B177B 2001
ISBN: 0028655265
Publication Date: 2001

Online multimedia

Multimedia Resources

Streaming recordings / videos

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
A huge online collection focused on classical music - over 2.3 million tracks. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented.
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: 7
Provider: Naxos Digital Services
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
This is an online collection of the world’s musical and aural traditions. The 45,000+ tracks cover a variety of genres including American Folk, Blues, Bluegrass, Old Time Country, American Indian, World, Jazz, Spoken Word & Sounds, and Children’s.
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Alexander Street Press

Online scores

nkoda This link opens in a new window
This digital music score application provides access to millions of pages of scores from the world’s leading publishers, including Bärenreiter, Boosey & Hawkes, Breitkopf & Härtel, Faber and Casa Ricordi.

Users can browse, download and mark up the scores. From solo piano scores to orchestral hire materials, all content can be accessed on your phone, tablet, or desktop.
Dates covered: Varies
Concurrent users: 10
Provider: nkoda Limited

An unlimited number of Registered Users can be authorized, however no more than 10 may access the content at any time.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of over 25,000 music scores, including full, study, piano, and vocal scores, plus piano reductions
Dates covered: Medieval - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Alexander Street
Full-text: Yes

Beyond HKBU_Rev

Beyond HKBU

ILL (get articles from outside BU)

HKALL (get books from outside BU)