Research Guides: Journalism Subject Guide: Documentaries

Documentaries

Local documentaries

The following two databases are developed and maintained by HKBU Library, offering thousands of local documentaries in an online streaming video format.

HKBUtube: TV Programs
Thousands of television documentaries produced by TVB, RTHK, and ATV. Under the provisions of our license agreements with the television companies, authentication is required for off-campus access.
HKBU Heritage -- Journalism
Selected documentaries produced by students of the Department of Journalism. This site is open to the public.

More documentary resources

There are several databases in the Library collections that provide access to documentary films:

BBC Video Collection This link opens in a new window
The BBC Video Collection combines 700 of the most-viewed BBC documentaries on a wide range of subjects, such as history, anthropology, science, religion, health sciences, and art.
Dates covered: 1979 - 2012
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Alexander Street Press
60 Minutes: 1997 - 2014 This link opens in a new window
This online collection provides access to episodes of 60 Minutes, the iconic newsmagazine show produced by CBS News. Over 350 hours of video covers 17 years of broadcasting, and includes hundreds of segments not available anywhere else in the world. True to 60 Minutes' iconic style, each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic.
Dates covered: 1997 - 2014
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Alexander Street Press
Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window
Includes over 300 documentary films on a variety of topics. Use the Content Type filter to browse the documentaries.
Dates covered:: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Alexander Street Press