|
|
|
Attend workshops via Zoom can get chances to the Grand Prize Draw!
All HKBU Faculty, Staff and Students are welcome to join the online events! (Please note that only current HKBU students are eligible for the prize draw)
| Date | Time | Location/Venue | Topic | Speaker(s) | Description | Presentation file |
| Jan 22 (Monday) | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm |
Collaborative Computer Laboratory (MLC), Main Library |
How to find and search high-quality business journals and magazines on EBSCO | Evan Shih (EBSCO Host) | EBSCO Business Source database offers full-text coverage for business periodicals, ranging from general magazines to trade publications and top management journals. It also includes access to current company profiles. Join this session, you will learn how to search high-quality journals and magazines on accounting, banking, business, finance, marketing, and economy studies. | Download |
| Jan 23 (Tuesday) | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm | Collaborative Computer Laboratory (MLC), Main Library | 中國知網---獲取中文學術文獻的有效方法，以金融學為例 | Patrick Zhu (CNKI) |
中國知網 (CNKI) is a comprehensive Chinese database encompassing journals, doctoral dissertations, master's theses, yearbooks, statistical yearbooks, reference works, ebooks, etc. This workshop will cover:
|
Download |
| 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm | Online via Zoom | 如何使用AiritiLibrary 以及iRead ebooks找尋中文資料 | Linda Ku (Airiti) | 介紹AiritiLibrary 以及iRead ebooks 如何操作使用找尋繁體中文資料。 | 資料庫手冊 電子書手冊 |
|
| Jan 24 (Wednesday) | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm | Online via Zoom | IEEE Xplore: Search Strategies to Maximize Your Research Experience | Dan HE (IEEE) |
|
Download |
| 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm | Online via Zoom | SDG Online: Researching the Sustainable Development Goals | Quinie Lim (Taylor & Fancis) | The UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) have become an action guide for businesses and education. Learn how to use SDG Online, a curated collection by Taylor & Francis to find the most important and relevant book chapters and journal articles, published under the Routledge and CRC Press imprints, to research all 17 SDGs. | Download | |
| Jan 25 (Thursday) | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm | Online via Zoom | How to master ProQuest platform | Gary Man (Clarivate) |
Go over key ProQuest databases HKBU currently subscribes to Identify the strengths of ProQuest databases Use ProQuest Databases to locate diverse content types for use in research and in teaching |
Download |
| 3:05 pm - 4:05 pm | Online via Zoom | Searching for global news, economic and financial information with Factiva | Gary Man (Clarivate) |
Introduce the database and contents available in Factiva Search within Factiva for articles, quotes, company profiles and industry reports |
Download | |
| Jan 26 (Friday) | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm | Collaborative Computer Laboratory (MLC), Main Library | Explore Opposing Viewpoints on X (formerly Twitter) using Gale in Context | Alfred Ng (Gale) | In July 2023, the billionaire Elon Musk, who took over ownership of Twitter in the previous year, renamed the platform “X”. His many changes to the popular social tool raises important questions on issues such as freedom of speech, fake news, online safety, and the outsized influence that wealthy individuals like Musk and a few companies have over the internet world. In this session, we will use the Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints database to explore the many opinions surrounding X and other internet issues, and show how the database can help you arrive at your own informed conclusions. | Download |
| Date | Time | Location/Venue | Topic | Speaker(s) | Description | Presentation file |
| Jan 22 (Monday) | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm | Multipurpose Room, Shek Mun Campus Library | 中國知網---獲取中文學術文獻的有效方法，以金融學為例 | Patrick Zhu (CNKI) |
中國知網 (CNKI) is a comprehensive Chinese database encompassing journals, doctoral dissertations, master's theses, yearbooks, statistical yearbooks, reference works, ebooks, etc. This workshop will cover:
|
Download |
| Jan 23 (Tuesday) | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm | Multipurpose Room, Shek Mun Campus Library | Explore Opposing Viewpoints on X (formerly Twitter) using Gale in Context | Alfred Ng (Gale) |
In July 2023, the billionaire Elon Musk, who took over ownership of Twitter in the previous year, renamed the platform “X”. His many changes to the popular social tool raises important questions on issues such as freedom of speech, fake news, online safety, and the outsized influence that wealthy individuals like Musk and a few companies have over the internet world. In this session, we will use the Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints database to explore the many opinions surrounding X and other internet issues, and show how the database can help you arrive at your own informed conclusions. |
Download |
| 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm | Online via Zoom | 如何使用AiritiLibrary 以及iRead ebooks找尋中文資料 | Linda Ku (Airiti) | 介紹AiritiLibrary 以及iRead ebooks 如何操作使用找尋繁體中文資料。 | 資料庫手冊 電子書手冊 |
|
| Jan 24 (Wednesday) | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm | Online via Zoom | IEEE Xplore: Search Strategies to Maximize Your Research Experience | Dan HE (IEEE) |
|
Download |
| 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm | Online via Zoom | SDG Online: Researching the Sustainable Development Goals | Quinie Lim (Taylor & Fancis) | The UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) have become an action guide for businesses and education. Learn how to use SDG Online, a curated collection by Taylor & Francis to find the most important and relevant book chapters and journal articles, published under the Routledge and CRC Press imprints, to research all 17 SDGs. | Download | |
| Jan 25 (Thursday) | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm | Online via Zoom | How to master ProQuest platform | Gary Man (Clarivate) |
Go over key ProQuest databases HKBU currently subscribes to Identify the strengths of ProQuest databases Use ProQuest Databases to locate diverse content types for use in research and in teaching |
Download |
| 3:05 pm - 4:05 pm | Online via Zoom | Searching for global news, economic and financial information with Factiva | Gary Man (Clarivate) |
Introduce the database and contents available in Factiva Search within Factiva for articles, quotes, company profiles and industry reports |
Download |
| Main Library | Shek Mun Campus Library | |
| 12:00 - 16:00 | ||
| 22 Jan (Mon) |
|
|
| 23 Jan (Tue) |
|
|
| 24 Jan (Wed) |
|
|
| 25 Jan (Thu) |
|
|
| 26 Jan (Fri) |
|
|
|
Library Home |
Opening Hours |
Contact Information |
Location Map |
Privacy Policy |
Site Map |
Intranet |
| Copyright © 2010-2019. Hong Kong Baptist University Library. All rights reserved. |
