E-books Guide @ HKBU Library: Open access e-books

E-Books@Hong Kong Public Libraries

Thousands of e-books are now available at the Hong Kong Public Libraries (HKPL), enabling users to get online access to books without having to go to the Library. The 11 e-book collections are suitable for personal study, research, as well as general leisure reading.

Google Books

Google Books is a digital repository of millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide. It is a free Google service with hundreds of thousands of free and purchasable books and magazines that can be searched. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given Google permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.

Hathi Trust Digital Library

Hathi Trust Digital Library is a large-scale collaborative repository to preserve and provide lawful access to the 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. 

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive is a non-profit digital collection offering free to books, magazines, audio and video files, maps, as well as archived web pages. It offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.3 million eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.

臺灣華文電子書庫 Taiwan eBook Database    

臺灣華文電子書庫由國家圖書館建置及管理，提供免費數位化館藏讓世界各地的學者可以便捷地獲得臺灣出版物和學術研究成果。電子書庫提供1911-1949年已數碼化的出版品，記錄臺灣各方面的資料以便進行臺灣研究；書庫亦有1950年以後出版的書籍。

Maintained by the National Central Library of Taiwan, Taiwan eBook Database is a big collection of digitized e-books across different subjects, aiming to make Taiwan's publication more accessible to scholars worldwide. The database includes works published from 1911-1949 and beyond.