Research Guides: Gender Studies Subject Guide: Background info &amp; articles

Journal articles

Databases

Library databases are specialized search tools containing information about reliable, published works such as scholarly journal articles. Databases can also provide access to primary sources in a variety of formats.

Below are links to the Library's subject databases relevant to Gender Studies:

Archives of Human Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
This database contains historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals, personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, and many other publications by and for lesbians and gays.
Dates covered: 1940 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Cengage Gale
Full text: Yes
History of Feminism This link opens in a new window
Provides an extensive range of primary and secondary resources on feminism for the widely studied period of 1776-1928.
Dates covered: 1771 - 1928
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Routledge
Full text: Yes
Women's Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window
Global in scope, this archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Focuses chiefly on the 19th and 20th centuries.
Dates covered:: 1775 - 1998
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Cengage Gale
Full text: Yes

Complete list of the Library's databases relevant to Gender Studies

Reference sources

Finding background information

When you are new to a topic, library-subscribed reference sources can help you define key terms and gain a general understanding. These are similar to Wikipedia, except that they are more authoritative. You can use such sources in your assignments with confidence.

Here are some reference sources that are relevant to Gender Studies:

General reference sources

The Blackwell Guide to Feminist Philosophy by Eva Feder Kittay (Editor); Linda Martin Alcoff (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470695388
Publication Date: 2008
The Blackwell Guide to Feminist Philosophy is a definitive introduction to the field, consisting of 15 essays that apply philosophical methods and approaches to feminist concerns.
The Handbook of Language, Gender, and Sexuality by Janet Holmes (Editor); Susan Ehrlich; Miriam Meyerhoff (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470656426
Publication Date: 2014
Significantly expanded and updated, the second edition of The Handbook of Language, Gender and Sexuality brings together a team of the leading specialists in the field to create a comprehensive overview of key historical themes and issues, along with methodologies and cutting-edge research topics.
The International Handbook on Gender, Migration and Transnationalism by Laura Oso (Editor); Natalia Ribas-Mateos (Editor)
ISBN: 9781781951460
Publication Date: 2013
The International Handbook on Gender, Migration and Transnationalism represents a state-of-the-art review of the critical importance of the links between gender and migration in a globalising world. It draws on original, largely field-based contributions by authors across a range of disciplinary provenances worldwide.
Routledge Companion to Media and Gender by Cynthia Carter (Editor); Linda Steiner (Editor); Lisa McLaughlin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415527699
Publication Date: 2013
The Routledge Companion to Media and Gender offers a comprehensive examination of media and gender studies, charting its histories, investigating ongoing controversies, and assessing future trends.The 59 chapters in this volume, written by leading researchers from around the world, provide scholars and students with an engaging and authoritative survey of current thinking in media and gender research.
The SAGE Handbook of Feminist Theory by Mary Evans (Editor); Marsha Henry (Editor); Hazel Johnstone (Editor); Sumi Madhok (Editor); Ania Plomien (Editor); Sadie Wearing (Editor); Clare Hemmings (Editor)
ISBN: 9781446252413
Publication Date: 2014
A state of the art guide to the issues and debates surrounding feminist theory, mapping both the present and the future of this broad, interdisciplinary field.

Reference sources on gender and Chinese societies

The Bloomsbury Research Handbook of Chinese Philosophy and Gender by Ann A. Pang-White (Editor); Chakravarthi Ram-Prasad (Contribution by); Sor-Hoon Tan (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781472569851
Publication Date: 2016
Covering the historical, social, political, and cultural contexts, The Bloomsbury Research Handbook of Chinese Philosophy and Gender presents a comprehensive overview of the complexity of gender disparity in Chinese thought and culture.
Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Women by Lily X. Lee (Editor); A. D. Stefanowska (Editor); Clara Wing-Chun Ho (Editor)
Call Number: R 305.4092 B52x 1998
ISBN: 0765600439
Publication Date: 1998
The first biographical dictionary in any Western language devoted solely to Chinese women, this reference is the product of years of research, translation, and writing by a team of over 60 China scholars from around the world. Compiled from a wide array of original sources, these detailed biographies present the lives, work, and significance of more than 200 Chinese women from many different backgrounds and areas of interest.
Volume 1: The Qing Period, 1644-1911 (editor Clara Wing-chung Ho)
Volume 2: The twentieth century, 1912-2000 (editor Lily Xiao Hong Lee)
Volume 3: Antiquity through Sui, 1600 B.C.E.-618 C.E. (editor Lily Xiao Hong Lee)
Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Women: Tang through Ming, 618-1644 by Lily Xiao Hong Lee (Editor); Sue Wiles (Editor)
ISBN: 9780765643155
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This final volume of this four-volume project contains more than 400 biographies of women active in the Tang through Ming dynasties (618-1644). Many of the entries are the result of original research, and together they form the only substantial compilation of information on Chinese women of the era available in English.

See the entry above for details of volumes 1-3 (only available in print at HKBU Library).
歷代婦女著作考增订本 by 胡文楷
ISBN: 9787532550067
Publication Date: 2008
《歷代婦女著作考》初版於1957年，嗣後又加增訂，1985年由上海古籍出版社出版。此次重予影印，特邀南京大學張宏生教授再加修訂和增補。
廣東女子藝文考 by 冼玉清
Publication Date: 1941
《廣東女子藝文考》，是第一本對嶺南古代才女創作行狀進行深透研究的著作，以“經、史、子、集”的分類標準，將嶺南歷代才女的創作情況加以細緻梳理，條例其生平、作品詳情。

More Library-subscribed reference works