Research Guides: Biology Subject Guide: Key databases for Biology

Databases for Biology

Relevant Databases for Biology

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that comprehensively covers the environmental sciences and environmental management. Subjects include air quality, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and more.
Click here for User Guide

Dates covered: 1967 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: ProQuest
Full text: Some
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Open access to 1,250,000+ full-text e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Owned and operated by Cornell University.
Dates covered:: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Cornell University
Full text: Yes
BioOne This link opens in a new window
A collection of research journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Dates covered:: 2000 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: BioOne
Full text: Some
Ovid This link opens in a new window
Ovid is a major search platform in the health sciences. It includes MEDLINE, Embase, EBM Reviews, and more.
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Various
Provider: Wolters Kluwer
Full-text: Some
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A version of MEDLINE, the premier database for citations to literature in medicine, biomedicine, pre-clinical sciences, health care and related subjects. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, it contains over 24 million records.
Dates covered: 1946 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Full-text: Citation information only
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize scholarly research
Dates covered: 1823 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Elsevier
Full-text: Citation information only
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
An academic platform that allows you to monitor research development and discover emerging trends via its citation indexes, which are used to track citation activities of leading journals in multiple disciplines. The Library provides access to the following subsets:
-Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED, 1980 - Current)
-Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI, 1980 - Current)
-Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI, 1994 - Current)
-Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI, 2017 - Current)
-Preprint Citation Index (1991-present)
-ProQuest™ Dissertations & Theses Citation Index (PQDT, 1637-present)
Dates covered: 1637 - Current (see above for coverage of individual indexes)
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson Reuters)
Full-text: Citation information only

Other Open Access Repositories

Open Access Repositories are collections and/or archives that provide free and searchable access to scholarly publications including journal articles, proceedings, working papers, technical report and sometimes even research data.

Here is a list of authoritative OA repositories or directories that contain or point to biology-related publications:

bioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution.
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.

Internet Resources

Taxonomy Databases/Tools

NCBI Taxonomy

The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.

Index to Organism Names

ION contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Clarivate Analytics' Zoological Record® database.

The International Plant Names Index

The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes.

Chemical Information and Safety Data

ChemSpider

Owned by RSC, ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 35 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Sigma-Aldrich

Chemical properties, as well as Safety Data Sheet (also known as Material Safety Data Sheets), can be searched through its product catalog.

TOXNET Databases

TOXNET® is a group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology. It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) at National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Drugbank

The DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.

Biology Subject Guide: Key databases for Biology

Databases for Biology

Relevant Databases for Biology

Other Open Access Repositories

Other Open Access Repositories

Internet Resources

Taxonomy Databases/Tools

Chemical Information and Safety Data

BrowZine - History journals