It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Do historians reconstruct the truth or simply tell stories? This book suggests that they do both, and that the balance between 'truth' and 'story' is tremendously important to history. Particular historical examples are used to illustrate and explain the ways in which we study and understand history.
"Civilization" is a constantly invoked term. It is used by both politicians and scholars. How useful, in fact, is this term? Civilization and Its Contents traces the origins of the concept in the eighteenth century.
Why did the industrial revolution occur in Western Europe, rather than in other parts of the world? Pomeranz compares the most developed regions on the European and Asian continent, focusing mainly on economic variables.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Authoritative resource for historians.
Dates covered: 1955 - Current Concurrent users: 3 Provider: EBSCOhost Full text: Some
In traditional classes, students learn by receiving ideas and information from instructors and texts, or they discuss such materials in seminars. “Reacting to the Past” courses employ a different pedagogy. Students learn by taking on roles, informed by classic texts, in elaborate games set in the past; they learn skills—speaking, writing, critical thinking, problem solving, leadership, and teamwork—in order to prevail in difficult and complicated situations.
This Singapore Historical GIS Website is based on the “A Historical Geographical Information System for Singapore” project and aims to position Singapore as a major player in the Digital Humanities by building a comprehensive historical GIS in the field of Singapore Studies.
This project innovates by combining Chinese and English archival sources into a searchable database, by combining and linking archival sources together with large amounts of data on Chinese socio-cultural institutions gathered in fieldwork over the past 5 years into a common GIS platform, and by creating software to enable users to generate their own map of the distribution of features found within the database.
By developing a digital solution, it will better situates early Chinese drug knowledge within the multiple contexts, times and places in which drugs took on new meanings and interpretations. It will expand the study of Chinese drug lore into what has normally been considered “religious” literature, and perform a variety of analyses on digital transcriptions of early materia medica.
Peter Singer is an influential and controversial philosopher. In this book of brief essays, he applies his controversial ways of thinking to issues like climate change, extreme poverty, animals, abortion, euthanasia, human genetic selection, sports doping, the sale of kidneys, the ethics of high-priced art, and ways of increasing happiness.
The contributors to this edited volume that ethics must be designed into institutions, technology, and artefacts. This methodology is illustrated via case studies from the fields of healthcare, media, and security.
Full-text resource covering contemporary social and political issues, such as terrorism, stem cell research, and gun control. Presents evidence for both sides of the debate, in the form of academic articles, primary sources, statistics, and viewpoint essays.
Dates covered: Various Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Cengage Gale Full-text: Yes
Provides open and convenient access to the most extensive available database on the historical evolution of world income and wealth distribution. Interactive maps allow for visualized comparisons between countries and regions.
Senior Citizen Home Safety Association (‘SCHSA’) was founded in 1996 as a non-profit charitable organisation with a self-financing model. Today it is one of the most established social enterprises in Hong Kong. SCHSA provides Care-on-Call Service, the most comprehensive 24/7 support service in the territory consisting of emergency aid, integrated care, around-the-clock vigilance service, health management, active ageing services and day-to-day living assistance. Our mission is to enable all service users in their senior years to age in place with a quality life by leveraging technology and innovation to provide people-centric services.
A straightforward, lively, and humorous account of how statistics are produced, used, and misused by everyone from researchers to journalists. Underlines the importance of critical thinking in all matters numerical.
Prepares students for the mathematics they will encounter in college courses, their future career, and life in general. Its quantitative reasoning approach helps students to build the skills needed to understand major issues in everyday life, and compels students to acquire the problem-solving tools that they will need to think critically about quantitative issues in contemporary society.
It takes just one-tenth of a second for our brains to begin to recognize emotions conveyed by vocalizations. It doesn't matter whether the non-verbal sounds are growls of anger, the laughter of happiness or cries of sadness. More importantly, the researchers have also discovered that we pay more attention when an emotion (such as happiness, sadness or anger) is expressed through vocalizations than we do when the same emotion is expressed in speech.