Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hong Kong Baptist University Hong Kong Baptist University Library
 

E-resources Discovery Week @ HKBU Library 2018: Register for Lunch & Learn

Register for Lunch & Learn Workshops

You get 1 sticker on your Mini-Passport for attending 1 Lunch & Learn workshop. The more stickers you collect, a higher chance to win!

The presentations have been uploaded below. Please click on the title of the workshop to access the files. 

Date Time Topic Speaker Summary
March 12 (Monday)

12:30pm - 1:30pm

Keeping current: International news at your fingertips

Carol So (ProQuest)

Introduce various resources to find news around the world. They include Factiva, and also various databases on the ProQuest platform.
1:30pm - 2:30pm Navigating the News in a Post-truth Era with The New York Times Hanh M. Dong (New York Times) Discuss fake news and honest journalism in a post-truth era, centering on New York Times.
March 13 (Tuesday) 12:30pm - 1:30pm Where to find company information and other high-quality business publications? Evan Shih (EBSCO) Business Source Complete, the comprehensive scholarly business database that provides full-text content covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
1:30pm - 2:30pm Beyond YouTube: Find scholarly and reliable online videos Jim Kao (Sage Publishing) Sage Video, an online video platform that offers sleek functionalities and most importantly high-quality academic streaming videos on various subject matters.
March 14 (Wednesday) 12:30pm - 1:30pm Scopus: Find, track, analyze and visualize scholarly research Chen Ju (Elsevier) Scopus, a large multidisciplinary academic database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring smart tools to track, analyze and visualize scholarly research.
1:30pm - 2:30pm Gale Primary Sources: Where the past meets the present Alfred Ng (Cengage Gale) Covering a wide range of full-text primary source content from human sexuality to declassified U.S. documents, Gale Primary Sources is a powerful platform with rich content and also robust analytical tools.
March 15 (Thursday) 12:30pm - 1:30pm MEDLINE: An authoritative database for biomedicine and health information Leo Cheung (Wolters Kluwer) MEDLINE is an authoritative biomedical and life sciences database that is known for its comprehensive coverage in biomedicine and health, as well as its trademarked medical subject headings. Come and learn how to search MEDLINE effectively on the Ovid platform and other resources on Ovid.
1:30pm - 2:30pm Web of Science: Track Research Development and Discover Trends Stephen Shen
(Clarivate Analytics)
Web of Science can be used to monitor research development and discover emerging trends. Its citation indexes are powerful in tracking citation activities of leading journals in multiple disciplines.
March 16 (Friday) 12:30pm - 1:30pm CNKI中國知網: 怎樣有效檢索中文數據庫 Lizzie Hu (CNKI) 介紹搜索中文數據庫的有效方法,以中國知網為例子。
Come and learn about tips on searching effectively in the Chinese-language database CNKI.
1:30pm - 2:30pm SciFinder Essentials: Not only for the Chemists Windy Wu (iGroup) SciFinder is one of the best resources for chemistry literature and chemical information, but it’s not just for chemists. Come and learn the tips and tricks for SciFinder!