Skip to main content
Hong Kong Baptist University Library Hong Kong Baptist University
 

Popular Books Collection: Current Theme

Check out what's hot & popular here!

You Might Also Like...

Follow us!

Find us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter            

Ask a Librarian FAQs

Acknowledgements

Our sincere gratitude goes to the many HKBU staff who helped us create and maintain this Popular Books Collection.

Special appreciation goes to Rita Wong for her efforts in collection relocation, Kenie Tong / Mandy Wong for their efficient information compilation, and Kristy Ngai for her superb graphic designs! 

Theme for July to August 2018

Chinese Pop Music 

Cantopop was once the leading genre of Chinese popular music, having its humble origin in the 1950s and rising to a multimillion-dollar business in the mid-1990s. Since then, Taiwan’s unique brand of Mandopop has transformed the musical taste in the Chinese-speaking world. More recently, the heat wave of Kpop has dominated Asia and beyond. 

The study of the music we love can tell us so much about our cultural identity and consciousness. We compiled a list of books on this latest theme for our Popular Books Collection. Check them out!   

Sources: 

Choi, J. (Ed.), Maliangkay, R. (Ed.). (2015). K-pop – The International Rise of the Korean Music Industry. London: Routledge. Retrieved from https://www-taylorfrancis-com.lib-ezproxy.hkbu.edu.hk/books/e/9781317681809

Moskowitz, M. L. (2009). Cries of joy, songs of sorrow : chinese pop music and its cultural connotations. Retrieved from https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.lib-ezproxy.hkbu.edu.hk

Zhu, Y., Project, M., & Project, M. (2017). Hong Kong Cantopop : A Concise History. Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press. Retrieve from http://search.ebscohost.com.lib-ezproxy.hkbu.edu.hk/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1556101&site=ehost-live

 






 

Popular Books Collection

The Popular Books Collection is a frequently changing collection intended to provide recreational and leisure reading for the HKBU community.  

We highlight our collection regularly with a particular theme of interests.

We are located on Level 2 of the Main Library at HKBU. 

The Popular Books Interest Group consists of Katie Lai, Chloe Lei, and Wing Woo.

Live Chat Help

Chat is offline

Semester service hours:
Mon-Fri 2pm-6pm