Research Guides: FIN7750 FinTech: Find background information/ definition

Finding definition & topic information

When you are new to a topic, library-subscribed reference sources can help you define key terms and gain a general understanding. These are similar to Wikipedia, except that they are more authoritative. You can use such sources in your assignments with confidence.

Here are some reference sources that are relevant to Finance and Information Systems Management:

Lookup a word / term / concept (e.g. Mutual funds, commodities, liquidation, venture capital, greenmail):

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online versions of Oxford University Press reference works, including dictionaries, companions, and encyclopedias on subjects from art to zoology.
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Full-text: Some
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Articles in the Encyclopedia Britannica are written by notable experts, providing balanced, global perspectives and unique insights. Also includes Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc.
Full-text: Yes

Understand a topic / concept (e.g. Credit rating agencies, Bulls, bears and stags, principles of corporate finance, financial systems):

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of general reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) covering all subject areas. Easy to search for a word or concept, and also has major topic pages.
Dates covered:: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Credo
Full text: Yes

More Library-subscribed reference sources