Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hong Kong Baptist University Hong Kong Baptist University Library
 

EndNote: EndNote Click

EndNote Click

 EndNote Click

EndNote Click (formerly Kopernio) is the official EndNote browser extension that can help you find available PDFs (from open databases and HKBU Library's subscription), and import articles found on the web to your EndNote.

YOU MUST have an EndNote account in order to use EndNote Click. If you do not have one, please register using your HKBU email address.

 

You can also visit the official EndNote guide to learn more about EndNote Click.

Using EndNote Click

Install EndNote Click on your browser

 

1. Download the EndNote Click browser extension
 
2. You will be asked to log in or register for an EndNote account (please use your HKBU email address).

EndNote Click set up

 
3. Select HKBU as your institution.

This will enable EndNote Click to search HKBU Library's journal subscriptions and check for full-text availability.

EndNote Click set up

 

4. Done! Your EndNote Click setup has been completed!

EndNote will show you some customization options, you can ignore it now and set it up later.

EndNote Click set up

 

 

Make sure you have enabled the corner View PDF button.

 

If EndNote Click is able to locate the full-text PDF file, you will see the purple "View PDF" button appearing in the lower-left corner of the article page.

EndNote Click

 

 

Search Web of Science, PubMed, Google Scholar

You can use EndNote Click to search Web of Science, PubMed, and Google Scholar. We recommend setting the quick search to Web of Science because it offers more filters to narrow down your search results. It is subscribed by the Library where a full-text search button has been integrated (more ways to locate the full text!).

1. To set your default search provider in EndNote Click, go to Settings, and then click on "More settings...":

 

2. Then go to the "Customise" section and set your preferred quick-search provider:

 

View, download, or export PDFs

When you run a quick search using EndNote Click, the extension will display the number of PDFs on the search result page it is able to locate. You have three options for the found PDFs:

   View selected PDFs

This will open a PDF viewer where you can read the PDF and decide whether to add the article to your EndNote Click "Locker", or export it into a RIS file. If you just click on an article on the list, it will also open the PDF viewer.

Download selected PDFs

This will download the selected articles into PDF files only.

Export selected PDFs

This will export the selected PDFs into RIS files. When you click on the downloaded RIS file, it will add the article to your EndNote (or other reference managers) software along with its PDF file. 

 

When you are on an article page, EndNote Click will look for the PDF full text of the article. If it is able to find a PDF full text, the purple View PDF button will show in the lower-left corner, and if not, the button will not appear.

You can add articles from EndNote Click to your reference manager. Endnote Click integrates with EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero. We recommend using EndNote as it is subscribed by the Library and you will have more options to save the article. 

 

Reference manager integration

Follow the simple steps below to connect your reference manager with EndNote Click.

 

1. Open the EndNote Click extension, go to Settings and click on "More settings..."

2. Then go to the "Customise" section to select your preferred reference manager. Done!

 

 

Add / Import articles to your reference manager

After selecting your reference manager, when you click on the View PDF button on an article page, it will open the PDF viewer.

 

You can view the PDF full text, save and share it, or add it to your reference manager:

Save to Locker

EndNote Click has a feature called "Locker", which is a folder you can add the PDF to and view the PDFs you have saved. EndNote Click provides a 100MB Locker storage size for a free user account. Please note that adding the article to your Locker does not add it to your EndNote software.

 

Download PDF / Share PDF

Download the PDF file onto your computer, or share the EndNote Click PDF link via email.

 

Export to EndNote Desktop / Push to EndNote Web

Both options add the article and its PDF to your EndNote Desktop. The Export option will download a RIS file while the Push option will add the article to your EndNote Web, which can be synced to your EndNote Desktop. You will be asked to log in to your EndNote Web account the first time you use the Push option.