It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The landscape of academia is evolving fast. Journal articles and conference proceedings/transactions are the places where you can find most up-to-date information to a research topic/area. When researchers make a breakthrough in their research field and would like to publicly announce it, sharing their research findings with their peers at conferences and/or submitting a paper to a journal would be their first choices.
How to find these journal articles/conferences?
In short, two options:
#1 Via search engines or database where these papers are indexed
#2 Directly from the journal publishers or the conference organizers' official website
Since normally we begin researching our topic by "keyword" searches, it is more effective to search databases rather than individual publisher sites. Searching databases normally can yield results which were published on a wide variety of platforms. Therefore, option #1 is more commonly used than option #2.
A full-text database of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and affiliated organisations. Journals, transactions and conference proceedings cover computer science, information systems and mathematics.
Searches can be expanded to include results from other publishers in "The ACM Guide to Computing Literature". Dates covered: Varied Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Association for Computing Machinery Full text: Some
An academic platform that allows you to monitor research development and discover emerging trends via its citation indexes, which are used to track citation activities of leading journals in multiple disciplines. The Library provides access to the following subsets:
-Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED, 1980 - Current)
-Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI, 1980 - Current)
-Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI, 1994 - Current)
-Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI, 2017 - Current)
Dates covered: 1980 - Current (see above for coverage of individual indexes) Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson Reuters) Full-text: Citation information only
The Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) is often used by many mathematics journals, which ask authors to list subject codes under this scheme when they submit their research papers. MSC is jointly produced by the staff of two major mathematics databases, MathSciNet and Zentralblatt MATH. The latest version of MSC was published in 2020.