Research Guides: Gender Studies Subject Guide: Recommended books &amp; journals

Books

The Library has hundreds of thousands of books, both online and in print. They range from introductory texts to in-depth scholarly studies of specialized topics. Search our vast collection with OneSearch.

Access OneSearch

Tips for using OneSearch to find books:

Filter your results so that only books appear in the results list
Limit your search to the subject field to increase relevancy

Detailed Guide to OneSearch

Recommended books

Here are some highlights from the Library's book collection relevant to Gender Studies:

History

Gender and the Politics of History by Joan W. Scott
Call Number: 305.409 SCO84G 1988
ISBN: 023106554X
Publication Date: 1989
An important contribution to theoretical gender historical writing, this book was perhaps the first to introduce into gender history the notion of gender as the social construction of sexual difference. A stimulating theoretical discussion of the implications of history (as a discipline) and gender, and of the necessity for the explicit use of gender as a category of historical analysis. Ranges across a set of essays by the author, and might seem polemical at times. Nonetheless, a classic in its field.

(Review from LibraryThing)
Gender in World History by Peter N. Stearns
Call Number: 305.309 St315G 2006
ISBN: 9780415395885
Publication Date: 2006
From classical times to the twenty-first century, Gender in World History is a fascinating exploration of what happens to established ideas about men and women, and their roles, when different cultural systems come into contact. This book breaks new ground to facilitate a consistent approach to gender in a world history context. (Book information from Syndetics)

The print version is also held in the Library's collection.
The History of Sexuality by Michel Foucault
Call Number: 306.7 F821He 1978
ISBN: 0394417755
Publication Date: 1978
A three-volume study of the history of sexuality in the western world by the influential French historian and philosopher Michel Foucault. Note that the Library's holdings include several different editions, including Chinese translations.

Chinese societies

Chinese History: A New Manual by Endymion Wilkinson
Call Number: 951 W659C 2012
ISBN: 9780674067158
Publication Date: 2013
Endymion Wilkinson's bestselling manual of Chinese history has long been an indispensable guide to all those interested in the civilization and history of China. It contains a chapter dedicated to women's studies that provides a good introduction to basic reference in this area of study.
Women and Gender in Contemporary Chinese Societies by Shanshan Du (Editor); Ya-Chen Chen (Editor)
Call Number: 305.420951 W842GC 2011
ISBN: 9780739145807
Publication Date: 2011
This book complements previous scholarship on Chinese women and gender by expanding our investigative lens beyond Han patriarchy and providing images of the multiethnic landscape of China. By identifying the Han as an ethnically marked category and by bringing to the forefront the diverse gender systems of ethnic minorities, this book encourages an increasing awareness of, and sensitivity to the cross-cultural diversity of gendered China both in academia and beyond. (Book information from Syndetics)
Gender and Chinese History by Beverly Jo Bossler (Editor)
Call Number: 305.420951 G285C 2015
ISBN: 9780295994703
Publication Date: 2015
The essays in this collection assess the ways in which the study of gender has changed our understanding of Chinese history and show how the study of gender in China challenges our assumptions about China, the past, and gender itself. (Book information from Syndetics)
Transgender China by Howard Chiang (Editor)
Call Number: 306.768 T687 2012
ISBN: 9780230340626
Publication Date: 2012
This volume brings together experts with diverse disciplinary backgrounds in the China field, from cultural studies to history to musicology, to discuss a range of issues in the subfield of Chinese transgender studies. (Book information from Syndetics)

Gender Studies e-journals

Journals

E-journals are serial publications where scholars publish the results of their latest research. Often you will discover e-journal content using library databases, but it can be useful to browse core journals in your discipline directly. BrowZine is a great way to explore the Library's subscribed journals:

Explore Gender and Sexuality journals via BrowZine

Not all of the Library's journals are accessible via BrowZine. Below are listed additional titles relevant to Gender Studies scholarship:

Gender & History
The major international journal for research and writing on the history of femininity and masculinity and of gender relations. It examines changing conceptions of gender, and maps the dialogue between femininities, masculinities and their historical contexts.
Gender, Work & Organization
As a central theme in social science research in the field of work and organization, the study of gender has achieved contemporary significance beyond the confines of early discussions of women at work. Launched in 1994, Gender, Work and Organization was the first journal to provide an arena dedicated to debate and analysis of gender relations, the organization of gender and the gendering of organizations.
Journal of women's history
The first journal devoted exclusively to the international field of women’s history. It publishes cutting-edge scholarship from around the globe in all historical periods. The Journal also promotes comparative and transnational methods and approaches to historical constructions of gender as they shape and are in turn shaped by women’s experiences.
Men and Masculinities
Men and Masculinities offers high-quality, interdisciplinary research in the emerging field of men and masculinities studies.
Psychology of Men & Masculinity
Psychology of Men & Masculinity is devoted to the dissemination of research, theory, and clinical scholarship that advances the psychology of men and masculinity.
Social Politics
Published by Oxford University Press, Social Politics is the journal for incisive analyses of gender, politics and policies in an international context.
Women's History Review
An international journal that aims to provide a forum for the publication of new scholarly articles in the field of women’s history, it publishes contributions from a range of disciplines (e.g. women’s studies, history, sociology, cultural studies, media studies, film studies, literature, anthropology, politics, social policy and philosophy) that further feminist knowledge and debate about women and/or gender relations in history.

Journals on Chinese Societies:

Nan nü : men, women, and gender in early and Imperial China
An interdisciplinary, international, peer-reviewed journal featuring original studies related to men, women, and gender in the fields of Chinese history, literature, linguistics and language, anthropology, archeology, art and music, law, philosophy, medicine/science, and religion - to China today.
近代中國婦女史研究
這本年刊多方面關注近代中國婦女史，有一般論著、也有婦女史理論，更有婦女史研究趨勢與新書的介紹。
女學學誌　Journal of Women's and Gender Studies
此期刊刊登有關婦女與性別研究的中文學術論文。
婦研縱橫　Forum in Women's and Gender Studies
提供婦女與性別研究相關資訊，例如：進行中的研究計畫、研究心得、研究資源、書評、出版書目、課程資訊等，每期依規劃主題，開發討論議題，供學術及其他各界參考。
婦女研究論叢 Collection of Womens Studies
創刊於1992年1月，2001年成為中國婦女研究會會刊。該刊以推動婦女研究的繁榮與發展為宗旨，刊登反映和探討婦女發展的重大理論和現實問題的研究論文和學術信息。