Research Guides: E-Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & More: English Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It provides guidance on the history, meaning, and pronunciation of over 600,000 words.
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Oxford University Press
Full-text: Yes

Lexico.com

It provide millions of English definitions, spellings, audio pronunciations, example sentences, and word origins mainly from the Random House Unabridged Dictionary.

Merriam-Webster Unabridged American Dictionary

If you are using American English, then Merriam-Webster Unabridged should be your dictionary of choice.

Definitions in this dictionary are enhanced with over 123,000 author quotations, and usage examples offer clear guidance and suggestions for words with confused or disputed usage.

Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The largest, most comprehensive American dictionary currently available in print or online.
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc.
Full-text: Yes

Translation Dictionaries

These dictionaries are designed to provide translations of terms between a pair of different languages.

WordReference
A useful free online platform that provides translation dictionaries for many different language pairs.