It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You will find both academic databases and free Internet resources below that provide various financial data of different scales: corporate (e.g. company financials), market (e.g. securities markets yearly review), and international (e.g. countries' balance of payments).
HKEx is the operator and frontline regulator of the central securities and derivatives marketplace in Hong Kong. Its website provides general information on the basic infrastructure and regulations for investors, issuers, and intermediaries.
There is a section called "Statistics & Research", where you would find various market statistics, survey reports, and research papers.
HKEx has established a dedicated issuer website solely for the dissemination of issuer information. This website is separate from the HKEx website with its own domain name and a new identity (HKExnews). The HKExnews website covers two main areas: Issuer-generated Information (e.g. company financial statements) & HKEx-generated Regulatory Issuer Information (e.g. status reports on delisting proceedings and suspensions).
The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) is an independent statutory body set up to regulate the securities and futures markets in Hong Kong. On its website, there is a section called "Published Resources" with research paper, market & industry statistics, consultations & conclusions, surveys, etc.
Established by a former investment banker named David M. Webb, this website provides reports and independent opinions with a focus on Hong Kong affairs, including but not limited to corporate and economic governance, business, finance, investment, legal and regulatory affairs.
Chinese national statistics compiled by National Bureau of Statistics of China. Data are available monthly, quarterly, and annually on various indicators such as industry, real estate, trade, and finance.
Provides free access of corporate information to public companies in the U.S., allowing you to search a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You can also find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors.
CME Group is a publicly traded financial services group. It also operates CME Clearing, a central counterparty clearing providers. Its website has an Education section that provides information (e.g. videos, reports, handbooks) on trading, risk management, and other related topics.
The IMF is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. For example, the International Financial Statistics provides time series data for GDP growth, inflation, unemployment, payment balances, exports, imports, external debt, capital flows, and commodity prices.
Over 6,000 digital data collections for research and teaching purposes covering a wide range of economic and social data, both quantitative and qualitative, and spanning various disciplines and themes.
Registration with a personal account is required to download data.
Provides essential social, economic, and financial indicators relating to Asian Development Bank's developing members countries in Asia and the Pacific.
Databases under School of Business subscription
These databases/facilities are for use within the School of Business only. Please contact the School of Business IT Support (3411-5212) directly, or refer to School of Business Facilities for more details.
Bloomberg Laboratory (DLB 907)
Eikon (previously Datastream) (DLB 304A)
DTS: Direction of Trade Statistics (CD-ROM)
IMF: International Financial Research (CD-ROM)
Main Board Derivatives/Debt Securities Issuer Documents (CD-ROM)
Economic and financial data on China, including various subsets such as stock market, funds, bonds, and company research. Dates covered: Varied Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: 囯泰安數據服務中心 Full text: Yes
Factiva is a research and current awareness platform that provides access to a large archive of news (including The Wall Street Journal) and business information such as company and industry snapshots.