Research Guides: Education Studies Subject Guide: Subject Specific Databases

ERIC

ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center

Established in 1964 by the United States Department of Education, ERIC provides access to millions of bibliographic records covering the education research literature. Discover scholarly sources like journal articles, books, and dissertations. ERIC also indexes "grey" literature - reports, policy papers, speeches, etc.

ERIC is available via three different interfaces. The content is the same, so choose the one that you like best:

ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
If you are already familiar with EBSCOhost's database platform, this version might be better for you.
Note that the content in all versions of ERIC is identical.

Dates covered: 1966 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: EBSCOhost
Full-text: Some
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) This link opens in a new window
The "vanilla" version of ERIC maintained by the US Department of Education. One advantage of becoming familiar with this free version is that you will still be able to access it after finishing your studies at HKBU.
Note that the content in all versions of ERIC is identical.

Dates covered: 1966 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: U.S. Department of Education
Full-text: Some

Journal articles

Other databases

Apart from ERIC, the following databases will also be particularly useful in searching the literature:

Complete list of the Library's Education databases

Hong Kong Education Bibliographic Database
This online annotated bibliography is maintained by the Education University of Hong Kong Library. It allows researchers to comprehensively search all research literature relating to education in Hong Kong.
more...less...
This is a bibliography, so full text is not directly available from this database. Please ask at the Library if you need help locating the full text of any references that you find.

Resources beyond HKBU Library

Can't find the full text of an article?

Unfortunately the Library cannot subscribe to every journal in the world. If you find a useful article that we cannot access, you can make an Interlibrary Loan request. We will get a copy for you from one of our partner libraries. This is a free service for eligible users!

Access the online Interlibrary Loan system

Need a book that we don't have?

The Library has a huge number of books in its collection, but we do not have every book ever written. Eligible users can use the HKALL service to borrow books from other UGC-funded libraries in Hong Kong.

Search HKALL