|
|
|
Attend workshops (1 workshop = 1 sticker) to collect stickers. The more stickers you collect, a higher chance to win the Prize Draw!
The presentations have been added. Please click on the title of the workshop to access the files.
| Date | Time | Topic | Speaker(s) | Summary |
|
Mar 4 (Monday) |
12:30pm - 1:30pm | Current News, Historical News, and Where to Find Them? |
Alan Tang (ProQuest) |
Introduce various resources to find current and historical news around the world. They include Factiva, International Newstream, SCMP historical archive, and New York Times with index. |
| 1:30pm - 2:30pm | 流暢手機閱讀體驗：認識HyRead中文電子書平台 | Roy Ching (Hyweb) | HyRead is a major Chinese e-book platform with an award-winning mobile app that allows you to browse, borrow, and renew e-books easily. HyRead提供各大出版社之學術、專業、休閒及工具書等各類電子書籍, 其得獎客戶端具備借書、還書、續借、預約、註記、畫線、書籤等功能。 | |
|
Mar 5 (Tuesday) |
12:30pm - 1:30pm | Gale Primary Sources: Where the past meets the present | Alfred Ng (Cengage Gale) | Covering a wide range of full-text primary source content from human sexuality to declassified U.S. documents, Gale Primary Sources is a powerful platform with rich content and also robust analytical tools. E-reference resources by Gale will also be covered. |
| 1:30pm - 2:30pm | CNKI中國知網: 怎樣有效檢索中文文獻 | Alison Zhao (CNKI) | 介紹搜索中文文獻的有效方法，以中國知網為例子。 Come and learn about tips on searching effectively in the Chinese-language database CNKI. | |
|
Mar 6 (Wednesday) |
12:30pm - 1:30pm | Media Literacy in the Post-Truth Age with The New York Times | Renée Boey & Christie Luk (NYTimes) | What is media literacy? How does media literacy connect to other subjects and to critical thinking? In this age of global media, with an abundance of news and digital information, we need to become wise consumers and responsible creators of media. |
| 1:30pm - 2:30pm | Scopus: Find, track, analyze and visualize scholarly research | Pauline Lam (HKBU Library) | Scopus, a large multidisciplinary academic database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring smart tools to track, analyze and visualize scholarly research. | |
|
Mar 7 (Thursday) |
12:30pm - 1:30pm | Where to find company information and other high-quality business publications? | Evan Shih (EBSCO) | Business Source Complete, the comprehensive scholarly business database that provides full-text content covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. |
| 1:30pm - 2:30pm | 尋找台灣學術文獻: Airiti 華藝電子資料平台 | Linda Ku (Airiti) | 介紹提供大量台灣出版的期刊和電子書的華藝中文學術資料平台。 Come and learn about Airiti, an academic platform that provides scholarly journals and books published in Taiwan. | |
|
Mar 8 (Friday) |
12:30pm - 1:30pm | Discover Brill Resources | Haoyuan Yang (Brill) | Introduce resources related to religion and philosophy by the publisher Brill. |
| 1:30pm - 2:30pm | Web of Science: Track Research Development and Discover Trends | Maggie Lam (Clarivate Analytics) | Web of Science can be used to monitor research development and discover emerging trends. Its citation indexes are powerful in tracking citation activities of leading journals in multiple disciplines. |
| Date | Time | Topic | Speaker | Summary |
|
Mar 4 (Monday) |
12:05pm - 1:05pm | Effective search statement for your assignments |
Wallace Wong (HKBU Library) |
Make use of keyword search and Boolean operators to create an effective search statement to retrieve information for assignments. |
| 1:05pm - 2:05pm | Gale Primary Sources: Where the past meets the present | Alfred Ng (Cengage Gale) | Covering a wide range of full-text primary source content from human sexuality to declassified U.S. documents, Gale Primary Sources is a powerful platform with rich content and also robust analytical tools. E-reference resources by Gale will also be covered. | |
|
Mar 5 (Tue) |
12:05pm - 1:05pm | Finding newspapers in Library | Joyce Tang (HKBU Library) | Introduce the gateway to access local and international newspaper articles, WiseNews, Factiva and PressReaders will be introduced. |
| 1:05pm - 2:05pm | 流暢手機閱讀體驗：認識HyRead中文電子書平台 | Roy Ching (Hyweb) | HyRead提供各大出版社之學術、專業、休閒及工具書等各類電子書籍, 其得獎客戶端具備借書、還書、續借、預約、註記、畫線、書籤等功能。HyRead is a major Chinese e-book platform with an award-winning mobile app that allows you to browse, borrow, and renew e-books easily. | |
|
Mar 6 (Wed) |
12:05pm - 1:05pm | Where to find company information and other high-quality business publications? | Evan Shih (EBSCO) | Business Source Complete, the comprehensive scholarly business database that provides full-text content covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. |
| 1:05pm - 2:05pm | Beyond YouTube: Find scholarly and reliable online videos | Jim Kao (Sage) | Access high-quality academic streaming videos on the Sage platform, notably the Sage Research Methods Videos. | |
|
Mar 7 (Thu) |
12:05pm - 1:05pm | Citation made easy with Mendeley | Joyce Tang (HKBU Library) | Use Mendeley to organize scholarly resources, generate citation, share papers with your colleagues or teammates. |
| 1:05pm - 2:05pm | CNKI中國知網: 怎樣有效檢索中文數據庫 | Alison Zhao (CNKI) | 介紹搜索中文數據庫的有效方法，以中國知網為例子。 Come and learn about tips on searching effectively in the Chinese-language database CNKI. | |
|
Mar 8 (Fri) |
12:05pm - 1:05pm | Citation made easy with Mendeley | Wallace Wong (HKBU Library) | Use Mendeley to organize scholarly resources, generate citation, share papers with your colleagues or teammates. |
| 1:05pm - 2:05pm | Current News, Historical News, and Where to Find Them? | Alan Tang (ProQuest) | Introduce various resources to find current and historical news around the world. They include Factiva, International Newstream, SCMP historical archive, and New York Times with index. |
|
Library Home |
Opening Hours |
Contact Information |
Location Map |
Privacy Policy |
Site Map |
Intranet |
| Copyright © 2010-2019. Hong Kong Baptist University Library. All rights reserved. |
