Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hong Kong Baptist University Hong Kong Baptist University Library
 

Visual Arts Subject Guide: Library Art Collections

Did you know ?

 Introduction

HKBU Library has a fine collection of art objects including sketches, paintings, calligraphy, posters and rare journals. These materials can be used for learning, teaching, and research purposes. Access to the art collection (except Nigensha reproduction 二玄社複製品) is by appointment with me. To preserve the original works, we encourage users to first consult the online images through this page.  

Sketches by Kong Kai Ming 江啟明香港史畫

Hong Kong travel poster collection

Featuring more than 100 posters printed between 1930s and 1982, this collection shows diverse styles in promoting Hong Kong as a tourist destination by the Hong Kong Tourist Association. The earliest known Hong Kong poster by S.D. Panaiotaky was printed in 1932. The posters have artistic values and won international poster competitions. The series of paintings by the well known Hong Kong artist Mr. David Lam Chun-fai won an international graphic art poster competition in 1969. These posters record the changing symbols representing this city.

View the collection

 

 

Collection on contemporary calligraphy and Chinese paintings 當代書法國畫珍藏

Propaganda Art Collection

The collection features propaganda posters, photographs and paper cutting related to the Cultural Revolution, Hong Kong riots in 1967 and other Communist countries such as North Korea and Soviet Union.

View the collection

 

 

 

 

Propaganda posters

Landscape sketches by Kong Kai Ming 江啟明素描畫

Native-born Hong Kong artist, Mr. Kong Kai Ming, has spent more than 50 years pursuing his love of art through his own painting. His works illustrate dramatic changes in Hong Kong scenery, landmarks already lost are preserved in the drawings. The Library has collected about 300 works of his landscape sketches dating from 1970s to 2000. This collection offers a glimpse into the development of Hong Kong scenes.

View the collection

二玄社複製台北故宮博物院珍藏書畫

Chinese art works reproduced by Nigensha and National Palace Museum (Taipei) 二玄社仿真書畫

The Library has a collection of Chinese artworks reproduced by Nigensha (二玄社) and National Palace Museum (Taipei) (台北故宮博物院).  To increase faculty access to its holdings, each title is searchable through the library catalogue.  To access physical materials on site, find the item at the library catalogue and request at the User Services Counter.

View the collection (selected)