HKBU AVA GLASS ART EXHIBITION
Despite the ongoing Covid situation, it is such a blessing for us the AVA glass art students to have the opportunity to passionately engage in the creative process with glass.
We are delighted to spread our FEVERISH art spirit to you but not the virus.
Abai Kunanbayev was a Kazakh poet, composer and thinker. Abu Nasr al-Farabi was a founder of philosophy within the Islamic world and scientist.
In celebration of the two Kazakhstan's most renowned thinkers, the University Library is pleased to hold an exhibition introducing their accomplishments and contribution to Kazakh culture and philosophy.
A display of Kazakh related books that are part of the Library's collections will be on view during the exhibition.
" France cannot do without great men or great heroes
any more than it can do without a strong state.
Great men and heroes represent unity that cannot be found elsewhere. "
Patrice Gueniffey, Napoleon & de Gaulle: Heroes and History
translated by Steven Rendall
Napoleon Bonaparte (1769-1821) and Charles de Gaulle (1890-1970) are two national figures that the French admire most in the history of their nation.
Hailed as saviors, a label they eagerly embraced, both became transformative leaders at times of crisis and war. Animated by quests for personal and national greatness, they both united an embattled nation, raised the country above itself, returned it to dignity and led it on a mission to enlighten the world. They also both left a permanent political legacy — in Napoleon’s case, a form of administration and a body of civil law; in de Gaulle’s case, new political institutions.
2019 marked the 250th anniversary of Napoleon's birth, while 2020 celebrates a triple anniversary for General de Gaulle : his birth and death in November and the Appeal of June 18, 1940.
On this occasion, the European Studies (French) programme and the course POLS2205 European Politics and Society: French Political and Government System are glad to have this books and objects exhibit, supported by HKBU Library and the Pilot Project “1, 2, 3, Prêts! Partez! Internationalisation at Home for a Successful Year Abroad from the Community of Practice - Internationalisation of Teaching and Learning.
Dr. Emilie Tran
圖像是一種重要的歷史證據，我們直面圖像的時候亦即直面歷史。中外史家鼓勵使用圖像作研究，如彼得．柏克（Peter Burke）的《圖像證史》（Eyewitnessing: The Uses of Images as Historical Evidence）和陳平原的《左圖右史與西學東移—晚清畫報研究》，均探討如何運用這種歷史證據。黃克武又曾精確地指出﹕「以視覺史料為主體來從事歷史書寫，是一個方興未艾的趨勢。」（《畫中有話：近代中國的視覺表述與文化構圖》）
After four years of hard work, the Library has digitized the complete set of TV Week magazine and related publications (1967-1997), plus close to 300 movie pamphlets and scripts (1940s to 1970s) from the collection. To celebrate the launch of the database, the Library organizes this exhibition to showcase more than 100 physical items.
Displaying over 100 award-winning books and competition entries
Founded in 1975, the German Photo Book Prize is a competition in which the jury awards the best photo books in German-speaking countries. The award honors special achievement by authors, photographers and publishers in the photo book sector.
Presented by the Hong Kong Baptist University Library in collaboration with Stuttgart Media University and Goethe-Institut Hongkong, on view is an exhibition of the long-listed, the shortlisted and the award-winning photo books of German Photo Book Prize for year 2020.
由香港浸會大學圖書館, 聯同斯圖加特媒體大學和香港歌德學院合作的 2020年德國攝影書大獎, 將展出過百本入圍及得獎書籍。
Old style live-in maids, landladies, cobblers, or hawkers selling preserved olives – these are some of the everyday characters local history has witnessed. Over many decades, local-born artist Kong Kai Ming had been tirelessly sketching and recording the lives of these anonymous characters all over Hong Kong. The Hong Kong Baptist University Library has recently acquired over 200 of Kong’s portrait sketches drawn in the 1950s to 60s. This exhibition will feature a collection of labour and love by an artist who always had his pen and paper standby to record the everyday lives of so many from the old past.
媽姐 ? 包租婆 ? 補鞋匠 ? 賣欖人 ? 曾幾何時, 這些我們熟悉的職稱或匠人，經歷時間流逝，成為了香江的歲月痕跡。出生及成長於本地的畫家江啟明先生，懷著對香港的一份濃厚感情，把這個地方的變遷和小人物們的生活點滴， 透過畫筆逐一記錄下來。香港浸會大學圖書館新近收藏了江先生近200幅人物速寫，透過這個展覽讓我們細味本港50至60年代諸如媽姐或賣欖人等無名小人物的一段珍貴歷史。
Please check HERE to access the Collection.
Celebrating aspiring young poets among the undergraduate students in local universities, the HKBU Century Club Citywide English Poetry Competition entered its second year with award-winning poet Srikanth Reddy (University of Chicago) as the international judge.
In addition to a public reading, the competition joined forces with the Academy of Visual Arts (AVA) and the HKBU Library to exhibit student artwork in response to the poems. You are invited to explore the creative visions of students in both textual and visual formats.
With support from The HKBU Century Club, this project is co-organised by the Department of English Language and Literature and the Department of Humanities and Creative Writing, in partnership with the Hong Kong Poetry Festival Foundation, the International Writers' Workshop, and the AVA.
The 15th English Short Story Writing Competition was jointly organized by the Language Centre and the Library. The competition was well-received by our students in both the undergraduate and graduate categories, and yielded a number of high-quality short stories. Dr. Patrick Holland (Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities and Creative Writing) served as our Final Round Judge. These compelling tales are certain to intrigue and delight you.
Hong Kong has rich biodiversity. This around 1,100 km2 land is the home of plenty wildlife, including over 550 bird species, 57 mammal species, 110 species of amphibians and reptiles etc. They are not only neighbours to us, but also the inhabitants of Hong Kong who share the same piece of land with us.
To promote Hong Kong's biodiversity and protect the natural ecology, the College of International Education, Hong Kong Baptist University and the Hong Kong Bird Watching Society jointly established the website "Hong Kong Wildtracks" and held an exhibition, which combines different elements of geographic information, ecology and scientific research. Despite research and education work on biodiversity usually rely on vision, senses other than vision are very useful in exploring and studying the nature. In order to promote local nature and biodiversity to the general public, "Hong Kong Wildtracks" adopts nature sound as the theme. Along with information from bird research, an interactive audio map incorporating an avifauna database is built. Universities and general public can have a better understanding on the local nature and conducting scientific research.
The Bauhaus was one of the most signiﬁcant schools of art, design and architecture in the 20th century. As a new idea and pioneering modernist concept, it revolutionised the different arts and found followers around the world. One hundred years after it opened, it still inspires artists across the globe.
The Berlin architect Walter Gropius founded the Bauhaus in 1919 in Weimar, as a university for design. Following moves to Dessau in 1925 and Berlin in 1932, when the Nazis seized power in 1933 they forced its then director, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, to close the school down.
One of the precepts of the Bauhaus was to strengthen craftsmanship in the face of industrialisation. Consequently, it was not just architecture that emerged from its various workshops, but also works of painting, sculpture, photography, furniture, weaving, metalwork and ceramic.
There is no such thing as a uniﬁed Bauhaus style. Rather, its character was developed by the prominent artists who taught at the Bauhaus, or who learned their trade there. These include Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Lyonel Feininger and Marianne Brandt – still some the most important artists of modernism, even today.
Co-organized by the Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU) Library and the Academy of Visual Arts (AVA) with the strong support from the Centre for Innovative Service-Learning (CISL), Peregrination in Bookplates is an exhibition which proposes the perspective of a traveler to view the bookplates donated by the members of the Hong Kong Ex-Libris Association (HKEA) and selected bookplates by AVA students (VART2306 Art in the 20th Century). Bookplate is itself a tiny print attached to the inside front-cover of a book to indicate its ownership. In this exhibition, the donated bookplates from HKEA members show a great variety in subject matter and techniques, providing an overview of bookplates in Hong Kong for audience unfamiliar with this art. For students’ works, the idea of “peregrination” corresponds to the journey they took to conduct research on public art in Hong Kong, the results of which are shown in their bookplates.
以《果》為名的珠寶設計作品展，是2018年商業設計高級文憑(珠寶設計及商品展示) 畢業同學迸發潛能的成果，更包含從果實中孕育出新種子的意義，寓意同學為未來發展萌芽，創意生生不息。當中的創作主題天馬行空且多元化 ，體現他們對不同物料與技術的實驗及探討，讓觀眾對珠寶設計及商品展示有更嶄新、更有趣的視覺體驗。
To celebrate this year's IWW Writer-in-Residence, an exhibition on Mr. Ma Jian(馬建) will be held in the library lobby from 26th April. You can view the library collection as well as the donated 30 copies of Mr. Ma's publication in various translations. You can find more information from Internationals Writers' Workshop.
Co-organizer: International Writers' Workshop
The Hong Kong Baptist University Library, in collaboration with the East Asian History of Science Foundation Hong Kong (EAHSF HK) and History Department presents the exhibition “Chinese Wartime Science through the Lens of Joseph Needham” from 22 January – 23 February, 2018.
The exhibition features 11 boards and a short video for viewers to gain an understanding of the life of Dr. Joseph Needham (1900-1994) and his contribution to the history of science and technology in China.
Date: 22 January - 23 February, 2018
In the exhibition “Fragile Impressions”, we present a selection of 26 lantern slides and glass and film negatives from the “China through the Eyes of CIM Missionaries” HKBU Library Special Collection. The selection represents “Fragile Impressions” in two ways: fragility and flimsiness in physical condition and the very fragile and ephemeral nature of the photographed. Many of the photographs are either printed on or enclosed by brittle glass plates, some of which are heavily damaged. In addition, the images’ motifs are “fragile” and unstable. Many of the photographs appear to be records of everyday life and historic snapshots, but, as we see when we look more closely, were in fact staged for the camera.
Date: 20 November - 14 December, 2017
To celebrate this year's IWW Writer-in-Residence, an exhibition on Ms. Li Zi Shu (黎紫書) will be held in the library lobby from 11th April. Not only you can view the author's publications, her manuscripts which is part of her donations to the library is also on display. You can find more information from Internationals Writers' Workshop.
Co-organizer: International Writers' Workshop
“She says – Photographing Hong Kong Ethnic Minority Women” is Hong Kong Unison’s second collaboration with photojournalist Lam Chun Tung. Through this series of portraits and stories of 17 women from diverse backgrounds, we set out to tell their life stories and break stereotypes. What we captured at the end was picture upon picture of courage, compassion, strength and grace.
We hope that this series of photos and stories will begin to foster mutual understanding, so that Hong Kongers shall see past the one-dimensional stereotypes, and get to appreciate ethnic minorities as diverse individuals who contribute to the social fabric of Hong Kong.
【她說 ─ 鏡頭下的少數族裔香港女性】是香港融樂會與攝影記者林振東的第二度合作。透過十七位香港少數族裔女性的相片和故事，她們訴說對生活堅毅而自信的想法，流露出溫暖而硬朗的特質。
The annual programme of International Writers’ Workshop (IWW), Visiting Writers 2016, will be held between 26 October and 24 November this year. With the theme of "The Written World" for the 2016 events, six writer from the world are coming to Hong Kong. They are an Indonesian writer, a Nigerian-Finnish writer, poets from Turkey and the US, as well as a Malaysian-Chinese writer and a novelist from China. We are pleased to introduce you:
Ms. Asma Nadia (Indonesian novelist and non-fiction writer)
Ms. Minna Salami (Nigerian-Finnish Writer)
Prof. Brian Kim Stefans (American Poet)
Ms. Müesser Yeníay (Turkish Poet)
Mr. King Ban Hui 龔萬輝先生 (Malaysian-Chinese Writer)
Ms. Lin Bai 林白女士 (Chinese Novelist)
You can find more information from Internationals Writers' Workshop.
Co-organizer: International Writers' Workshop
The following works featured in the exhibition are from Joni Gutierrez’work-in-progress thesis project, Hong Kong Series
Date: 1 June - 3 July, 2016
Venue: L3, Hong Kong Baptist University Au Shue Hung Memorial Library
Hong Kong: Study One
Hong Kong: Study Two
Joni is a PhD Candidate (Film & Media Studies) at the HKBU School of Communication.
Department of Humanities and Creative Writing
Let's tell better stories …
This special collection of books showcases the academic, creative and popular works of academic staff in the Department of Humanities and Creative Writing in the past 2 years.
Book Exhibition: 24 March - 28 April, 2017
The GS Concentration, first of its kind at HKBU, aims at delivering a unique opportunity for students to add breadth to their major studies, through being exposed to the way gender intersects with a variety of spheres of knowledge, power relations, and professional settings.
Exhibition: 13 February - 9 March, 2017
Information Session & Scholarly Talk: 13 February 2017
The 2015-2016 class of Anthropology of Art (AVA) used the HKBU Library Chinese Propaganda Poster collection as primary source materials. The students each chose a poster from the collection that appealed directly to them on an immediate, superficial level. They then embarked on an in-depth study of their chosen poster as both a visual reality and a lived reality that impacted on the lives of the people around it.
Their research had them following the development of the medium from the birth of mass advertising on the streets of fin de siècle Paris to a powerful tool for mobilising nations in times of great turmoil. After detailed contextual analysis of their posters, they then set about the more speculative Imagined Lives Projects. This project brought the focus back to the individual, with the students imagining a protagonist caught up in the great events.
This exhibition presents a selection of these projects alongside a larger selection from the library collection.
Check out the library poster collection here.
To celebrate this year's IWW Writer-in-Residence, an exhibition on Ms. Shih Shu-ching (施叔青) is being held in the library lobby until the end of May. Not only you can view the author's publications, her manuscripts which is part of her donations to the library is also on display. You can find more information from Internationals Writers' Workshop.
Co-organizer: International Writers' Workshop
Library Home |
Opening Hours |
Contact Information |
Location Map |
Site Map |
|Copyright © 2010-2019. Hong Kong Baptist University Library. All rights reserved.|