Research Guides: Thanatology Studies: Find Articles

OneSearch

OneSearch is a convenient, powerful place to start your searching. From one simple search box, you can search through much of the scholarly literature available at HKBU Library.

To find journal articles, simply put in the "article title" or keyword of your topic in the below search box.

Library Databases

Library Databases are specialized search tools containing information about reliable, published works. Below are the best bets databases relevant to Religion and Philosophy studies:

ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
A database for religion scholars produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA). Indexes journal articles, book reviews and collections of essays in all fields of religion, including biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.
Dates covered:: 1949 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: EBSCOhost
Full text: Some
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Theme-based collections of works in the Cambridge Companions series. This platform allows cross-searching of 572 reference titles. Collections include: Music; Philosophy, Religion, and Culture; Literature and Classics.
Dates covered: 1991 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Cambridge University Press
Full-text: Yes
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary full-text archive of thousands of journal titles, mostly from the social sciences and humanities.
Note that full text is generally NOT available for the latest three years, and that HKBU Library does not subscribe to all JSTOR content
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Full-text: Yes
CNKI 中國期刊全文數據庫 China Academic Journals Full-text Database This link opens in a new window
收錄了中國出版的數千種期刊，圖書館購買了以下6個全文專輯：
哲學與人文科學, 1915 - Current
政治軍事與法律, 1994 - Current
教育與社會科學綜合, 1994 - Current
經濟與管理科學, 1994 - Current
醫藥衛生科技, 1915 - Current
電子技術及信息科學, 2014 - Current
Articles from core academic journals published in Mainland China. The Library subscribes to the following 6 subsets:
Philosophy & Humanities, 1915 - Current
Political Sciences, Military, & Law, 1994 - Current
Education & Social Sciences, 1994 - Current
Economics & Management, 1994 - Current
Health & Medicine, 1915 - Current
Electronic Technology & Information Science, 2014 - Current

Reminders:
1. The latest version of Acrobat Reader (with Chinese Simplified font pack) or CAJViewer is recommended for viewing the full text of articles.
2. For users of CAJViewer, a Traditional Chinese Version of Windows is recommended.

Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: CNKI
Full-text: Yes

To view a complete list of Religion and Philosophy databases, please click here.

Highligthed Library-subscribed Journals

BMC Palliative Care
BMC Palliative Care is an open access journal publishing original peer-reviewed research articles in the clinical, scientific, ethical and policy issues, local and international, regarding all aspects of hospice and palliative care for the dying and for those with profound suffering related to chronic illness.
Death Studies
Refereed articles in the areas of death education, death-related counseling and terminal care, hospice and bereavement counseling, and research reports on all aspects of dying, death and bereavement, including ethical, legal and professional issues.
Illness, Crises, and Loss
This is a premier refereed and international journal. It furthers an understanding and knowledge of the social scientific, psychosocial and ethical issues associated with life-threatening illness, traumatic human crises, grief, and loss. The broad and unique focus of the journal makes it relevant to a wide range of social scientists, qualitative and quantitative researchers as well as students, grief counselors, therapists, social workers, thanatologists, physicians and nurses, medical ethicists, and anyone else who works with people in crisis situations across the world.
more...less...
The Library has 1998-2004.
Indian Journal of Palliative Care
This journal provides guidelines and systematic reviews in palliative care and oncology; a directory of palliative care programmes in India and IAPC membership; Palliative Care Formulary, book reviews and other educational material ; and guidance on statistical tests and medical writing.
Journal of Loss & Trauma
Covers personal losses relating to family, health & aging issues. Highlights common as well as differing impacts of major losses, while revealing commonalities between the varous healing processes.
Journal of Palliative Care
Published by the Centre de recherche Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montreal. The Journal of Palliative Care is a Canadian-based, peer-reviewed, international and interdisciplinary forum for practical, critical thought on palliative care and palliative medicine.
Mortality
Unique features of the journal are the Classic Revisited series wherein key texts in the study of death are subjected to contemporary reappraisal by an expert in the discipline, and Virtual Themed Issues, which are online collections of articles on key themes introduced by an expert.
Palliative & Supportive Care
This is an international journal of palliative medicine that focuses on the psychiatric, psychosocial, spiritual, existential, ethical, and philosophical aspects of palliative care. Its aim is to serve as an educational resource for practitioners from a wide array of disciplines engaged in the delivery of care to those with life threatening illnesses along the entire continuum of care from diagnosis to the end of life.
Palliative Medicine
This is a highly ranked, peer reviewed scholarly journal dedicated to improving knowledge and clinical practice in the palliative care of patients with far advanced disease.