It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digitized documents from the British Foreign Office Files held at the UK National Archives covering the period 1815–1881. These materials relate to the internal politics of China and Britain, their relationship, and the relationships between other Western powers keen to benefit from the growing trading ports of the Far East.
Dates covered: 1815 - 1881 Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Cengage Gale Full text: Yes
Building on the second edition of Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart, this digital encyclopedia is targeted at music researchers worldwide. With over 19,000 authoritative articles that are continuously updated and revised, this resource offers comprehensive coverage of music and related fields.
Dates covered: Various Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM)
A collection of miscellaneous papers and reports from the British legation and consulates in China. Digitized from documents held at the UK National Archives, it comprises a catalogue of embassy archives, 1727 to 1859; trade and intelligence reports; records of legal proceedings; miscellaneous papers, some in Chinese, of the Chinese Secretary's Office; an entry book of papers relating to the East India Company in China; claims arising from Sino-Japanese hostilities, 1927 to 1940; accounts; circulars, etc.
This resource compiles dozens of reference works published from 1775 to the present. Topics including popular music and rock, opera, instruments, blues and gospel, and more are all comprehensively covered.
Dates covered: 1775 - Current Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) Full-text: Yes