|
|
|
All library users are welcome to join the workshops but only current HKBU students are eligible for the prize draw.
| Date | Time | Topic | Speaker(s) | What you will learn | Register |
| 6 Feb (Mon) |
12:30 - 13:30 |
[Zoom] Value-added Services for ACS Publications |
Kenneth Tang (ACS / iGroup) |
ACS Publications' commitment to publishing high-quality research continues to attract impactful publications from top authors around the globe. This workshop will introduce the core values of ACS Publications, publishing platform resources, publishing trends, and the introduction of new journals in recent years. With this report, you will have a deeper and more comprehensive understanding of the ACS Publications |
[Registration link] |
| 15:30 - 16:30 |
The beginning of business research: Finding high quality business journals, popular magazines, and company information with EBSCO business database |
Evan Shih (EBSCO) | You will learn how to find ebooks/ journals/ magazines/ company information in the EBSCO business database. Searching tips such as thesaurus and ways to manage references such as folders and EndNote exporting function will be demonstrated. The EBSCO mobile app will also be introduced. | [Registration link] | |
| 7 Feb (Tue) | 12:30 - 13:30 |
Exploring the business value and benefits of Web3, blockchain, NFTs with Gartner |
Jenny Wong (Gartner) | Gartner offers over 110,000 research reports covering more than 1,200+ technology and business topics. A great resource for computer science and business students. Learn how to navigate the site and get insights! | [Registration link] |
| 15:30 - 16:30 |
How WiseSearch can help you in the data-flooded world [This workshop will be conducted in Cantonese] |
Pany Ng and Chris Leung (Wisers) |
Nowadays, data is one of the major assets for everyone Data can analyze and surveillance your activities, behavior, and preference. Data can predict the trend in the market or society. Data can be used as evidence or an argument for your research project. Data is enormous and produced anywhere, anytime. But, how can we easily grasp the target data we want? In the training, Wisers Speaker will guide users to use our search engine practically. We will show different ways to enhance the accuracy of using our platform to reach our target data. |
[Registration link] | |
| 8 Feb (Wed) | 12:30 - 13:30 |
[Zoom] Stream movies, documentaries, and award-winning foreign films on Kanopy |
Julie Buckroyd (Kanopy) | Kanopy is an on-demand streaming platform that offers access to classic cinema, independent films, and documentaries. Join to learn about its content and features, and how to navigate the site. | [Registration link] |
| 15:30 - 16:30 |
[Zoom] SDG Online: Researching the Sustainable Development Goals |
Pui Lee (Taylor & Francis) |
The UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) have become an action guide for businesses and education. Learn how to use SDG Online, a curated collection by Taylor & Francis to find the most important and relevant book chapters and journal articles, published under the Routledge and CRC Press imprints, to research all 17 SDGs. |
[Registration link] | |
| 9 Feb (Thu) | 12:30 - 13:30 |
Practical Law Academy: Driving legal research with Practical Law |
Christie Luk and Tracy Tsoi (Thomson Reuters) | This session will introduce what is Practical Law and the different Practical Law resources and functionalities that it offers. It will demonstrate the Practical Law tools to help equip students better navigate and search for legal resources, including Practice Notes, Standard Documents, Checklists, etc. Students would be able to locate and search for legal resources with efficiency and confidence. | [Registration link] |
| 15:30 - 16:30 |
HyRead 電子書線上Fun心學 |
Roy Ching (凌網科技) | HyRead提供中文電子書。此課堂講解平台收錄內容簡介、如何閱讀浸會HyRead電子書，及HyRead在電腦及手機平板介面使用的簡介。 | [Registration link] | |
| 10 Feb (Fri) | 12:30 - 13:30 |
Doing your history research with Gale Primary Sources (Highlight with Hong Kong history) |
Alfred Ng (Gale) | To have an overview of the database for finding digital primary source archives for different History research topics, by using examples related to Hong Kong History. | [Registration link] |
| 15:30 - 16:30 |
Drama Online – the market leading academic resource for Theatre Studies and the Performing Arts |
Leo Lui (Drama Online) | Drama Online is the ultimate online resource for plays, performance, and critical analysis, featuring more than 3,000 of the most studied, performed, and critically-acclaimed works from the last 2,500 years. It is the only resource to combine exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays. | [Registration link] | |
|
[Zoom] Introduction to searching on ProQuest platform |
Shun Kobayashi (ProQuest) |
The ProQuest platform hosts multidisciplinary content containing scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers, and more. The objectives of this session are to identify features that help provide effective and rapid searches. |
[Registration link] |
| Date | Time | Topic | Speaker(s) | What you will learn | Register |
| 6 Feb (Mon) |
12:30 - 13:30 |
[Zoom] Value-added Services for ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications |
Kenneth Tang (ACS / iGroup) |
ACS Publications' commitment to publishing high-quality research continues to attract impactful publications from top authors around the globe. This workshop will introduce the core values of ACS Publications, publishing platform resources, publishing trends, and the introduction of new journals in recent years. With this report, you will have a deeper and more comprehensive understanding of the ACS Publications |
[Registration link] |
| 15:30 - 16:30 |
Doing your history research with Gale Primary Sources (Highlight with Hong Kong History) |
Alfred Ng (Gale) |
To have an overview of the database for finding digital primary source archives for different History research topics, by using examples related to Hong Kong History. |
[Registration link] | |
| 7 Feb (Tue) | 12:30 - 13:30 | --- | --- | ||
| 15:30 - 16:30 |
The beginning of business research: Finding high quality business journals, popular magazines, and company information with EBSCO business database |
Evan Shih (EBSCO) | You will learn how to find ebooks/ journals/ magazines/ company information in the EBSCO business database. Searching tips such as thesaurus and ways to manage references such as folders and EndNote exporting function will be demonstrated. The EBSCO mobile app will also be introduced. | [Registration link] | |
| 8 Feb (Wed) | 12:30 - 13:30 |
[Zoom] Stream movies, documentaries, and award-winning foreign films on Kanopy |
Julie Buckroyd (Kanopy) | Kanopy is an on-demand streaming platform that offers access to classic cinema, independent films, and documentaries. Join to learn about its content and features, and how to navigate the site. | [Registration link] |
| 15:30 - 16:30 |
[Zoom] SDG Online: Researching the Sustainable Development Goals |
Pui Lee (Taylor & Francis) | The UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) have become an action guide for businesses and education. Learn how to use SDGs Online, a curated collection to find the most important and relevant book chapters and journal articles, published under the Routledge and CRC Press imprints, to research on all 17 SDGs. |
[Registration link] | |
|
SAGE Research Methods: The Holistic Approach to Your Research |
Jim Kao (SAGE) |
New to doing research or need a refresher? This workshop will give you an over of the SAGE Research Methods database that guides you from the start to finish of a research project. Special research tools such as Methods Map and Project Planner will be introduced. |
[Registration link] | ||
| 9 Feb (Thu) | 12:30 - 13:30 |
Exploring the business value and benefits of Web3, blockchain, NFTs with Gartner |
Jenny Wong (Gartner) | Gartner offers over 110,000 research reports covering more than 1,200+ technology and business topics. A great resource for computer science and business students. Learn how to navigate the site and get insights! | [Registration link] |
| 15:30 - 16:30 |
How WiseSearch can help you in the data-flooded world [This workshop will be conducted in Cantonese.] |
Pany Ng and Chris Leung (Wisers) |
Nowadays, data is one of the major assets for everyone Data can analyze and surveillance your activities, behavior and preference. Data can predict the trend in the market or society. Data can be used as evidence or argument for your research project. Data is enormous and produced anywhere, anytime. But, how can we easily grasp the target data we want? In the training, Wisers Speaker will guide users to use our search engine practically. We will show different ways to enhance the accuracy of using our platform to reach our target data. |
[Registration link] | |
| 10 Feb (Fri) | 12:30 - 13:30 | --- | --- | ||
| 15:30 - 16:30 |
[Zoom] Introduction to searching on ProQuest platform |
Shun Kobayashi (ProQuest) | The ProQuest platform hosts multidisciplinary content containing scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers, and more. The objectives of this session are to identify features that help provide effective and rapid searches. | [Registration link] |
| Main Library | Shek Mun Campus Library | |
| 12:30 - 17:30 | ||
| 6 Feb (Mon) |
|
|
| 7 Feb (Tue) |
|
|
| 8 Feb (Wed) |
|
|
| 9 Feb (Thu) |
|
|
| 10 Feb (Fri) |
|
|
|
Library Home |
Opening Hours |
Contact Information |
Location Map |
Privacy Policy |
Site Map |
Intranet |
| Copyright © 2010-2019. Hong Kong Baptist University Library. All rights reserved. |
