Research Guides: China Studies Subject Guide: Find materials

Journal articles

Journal article databases

The latest scholarly research is published in relevant disciplinary journals. The following subject databases will be particularly useful in searching for journal articles relating to China Studies:

CNKI 中國期刊全文數據庫 China Academic Journals Full-text Database This link opens in a new window
收錄了中國出版的數千種期刊，圖書館購買了以下6個全文專輯：
哲學與人文科學, 1915 - Current
政治軍事與法律, 2000 - Current
教育與社會科學綜合, 2000 - Current
經濟與管理科學, 2000 - Current
醫藥衛生科技, 1915 - Current
電子技術及信息科學, 2018 - Current
Articles from core academic journals published in Mainland China. The Library subscribes to the following 6 subsets:
Philosophy & Humanities, 1915 - Current
Political Sciences, Military, & Law, 2000 - Current
Education & Social Sciences, 2000 - Current
Economics & Management, 2000 - Current
Health & Medicine, 1915 - Current
Electronic Technology & Information Science, 2018 - Current

Reminders:
1. The latest version of Acrobat Reader (with Chinese Simplified font pack) or CAJViewer is recommended for viewing the full text of articles.
2. For users of CAJViewer, a Traditional Chinese Version of Windows is recommended.

Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: CNKI
Full-text: Yes
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
An index of principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. Serves researchers seeking information on Asian Studies, with a focus on the humanities and social sciences.
Dates covered:: 1971 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: EBSCOhost
Full text: Citation information only

Complete list of the Library's China Studies databases

Primary sources

The following databases are rich sources of primary materials relevant to China Studies:

中國文化大革命文庫 Chinese Cultural Revolution Database This link opens in a new window
文庫收集散落在民間和海內外學者手中約一萬篇以上的原始文獻及文革中的官方和非官方的出版物，將之整理及分成七個單元，為研究文革的學者提供了重要的史料彙編，設有中英文檢索。
With over ten thousand primary historical materials, this database includes both official and unofficial documents about the Chinese Cultural Revolution. It can be searched in both English and Chinese.
Dates covered: 1960 - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Universities Service Centre for China Studies, the Chinese University of Hong Kong
Full-text: Yes
漢籍電子文獻資料庫Scripta Sinica Database This link opens in a new window
此資料庫內容包括經、史、子、集四部，其中以史部為主，經、子、集部為輔。若以類別相屬，又可略分為宗教文獻、醫藥文獻、文學與文集、政書、類書與史料彙編等，二十餘年來累計收錄歷代典籍已達六百七十多種（新增書目），四億四千四百八十萬字，內容幾乎涵括了所有重要的典籍。
This database contains more than 814 titles pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history.
Dates covered: Pre-Qin to early 20th century
Concurrent users: 5 user limit
Provider: 中央研究院
Full-text: Yes
晚清期刊全文數據庫 This link opens in a new window
收錄了1833-1910年間300余種期刊，計25萬余篇文獻，幾乎囊括了鴉片戰爭、洋務運動、戊戌變法和辛亥革命等時期出版的所有期刊，其中包括婦女類期刊、小說期刊、白話文期刊以及科技類期刊等。進入後請點擊“高級檢索”去選擇此數據庫。
Over 300 periodicals from 1833-1910, covering important periods such as the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898 and Revolution of 1911. Themes include women's liberation, the flourishing period of novels, the vernacular culture, and scientific knowledge. Go to "Advanced Search" to select this database.
Dates covered: 1833-1910
Concurrent users: 5 user limit
Provider: Shanghai Library
Full-text: Yes
中文期刊全文數據庫 (民國時期)(1911～1949) This link opens in a new window
本庫收錄了民國時期（1911～1949）出版的期刊5千余種，內容涵蓋政治、軍事、外交、經濟、教育、思想文化、宗教等方面。進入後請點擊“高級檢索”去選擇此數據庫。
Over 5000 journals from 1911- 1949, covering topics such as politics, military, foreign affairs, economics, education, intellectual cultures, and religions. Go to "Advanced Search" to select this database.
Dates covered: 1911-1949
Concurrent users: 5 user limit
Provider: Shanghai Library
Full-text: Yes
China: Culture and Society (1750 - 1929) This link opens in a new window
A database of rare pamphlets, mostly in English, from one of the most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world. These digitised full-text pamphlets from the Wason Collection on East Asia housed in Cornell Unviersity represent a broad variety of writings on the people and cultures of China and foreign involvement there.
Dates covered:: 1750 - 1929
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Adam Matthew
Full text: Yes
China: Trade, Politics & Culture (1793 - 1980) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to a variety of source materials in English relating to China and its interactions with the West.

In addition, this database offers over 400 colour paintings, maps and drawings by English and Chinese artists, as well as many photographs, sketches and ephemeral items, depicting Chinese people, places, customs and events.
Dates covered:: 1793 - 1980
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Adam Matthew
Full text: Yes
Foreign Office Files for China (1919 - 1980) This link opens in a new window
Primary source database covering all British Foreign Office files produced between 1919 and 1980 dealing with China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan. Includes reports, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, and diverse other materials.
Dates covered: 1919 - 1980
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Adam Matthew / UK National Archives
Full text: Yes

Resources beyond HKBU Library

Can't find the full text of an article?

The Library cannot subscribe to every journal in the world. But if you find a useful article that we cannot access, you can make an Interlibrary Loan request. We will get a copy for you from one of our partner libraries. This is a free service for eligible users!

Access the online Interlibrary Loan system

Need a book that we don't have?

The Library has a huge number of books in its collection, but we do not have every book ever written. Eligible users can use the HKALL service to borrow books from other UGC-funded libraries in Hong Kong.

Search HKALL