Skip to main content
Hong Kong Baptist University Hong Kong Baptist University Library
 

Physics Subject Guide: Online resources

Internet Resources

 General reference data

Chemical Information & Safety Data

 ChemSpider

  • Owned by RSC, ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 35 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

 Sigma-Aldrich

  • Chemical properties, as well as Safety Data Sheet (also known as Material Safety Data Sheets), can be searched through its product catalog.

 TOXNET Databases

  • TOXNET® is a group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology. It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) at National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Physics Laws, Formulas & Equations

 NIST Physical Reference Data

 HyperPhysics (with concept mapping) 

  • HyperPhysics is an exploration environment for concepts in physics which employs concept maps and other linking strategies to facilitate smooth navigation.

 The Laws List

  • This site contains laws, rules, principles, effects, paradoxes, limits, constants, experiments, & thought-experiments in the subject of physics.

 Eric Weisstein's World of Physics (Wolfram Research) 

  • Part of the World of Science collection in Wolfram, this site contains 2,700 entries, 14,065 cross-references, 172 figures, and 22 animated graphics.

General reference data - Physics

Open Access Repositories

Open Access Repositories are collections and/or archives that provide free and searchable access to scholarly publications including journal articles, proceedings, working papers, technical report and sometimes even research data. 

Here is a list of authoritative OA repositories or directories that contain or point to physics-related publications: