Research Guides: Visual Arts Subject Guide: Find materials

Finding Background Information

Finding background information

When you are new to a topic, library-subscribed reference sources can help you define key terms and gain a general understanding. These are similar to Wikipedia, except that they are more authoritative. You can use such sources in your assignments with confidence.

Here are some reference sources that are relevant to the Visual Arts.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today.
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: 3
Provider: Oxford University Press
Full-text: Yes
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Articles in the Encyclopedia Britannica are written by notable experts, providing balanced, global perspectives and unique insights. Also includes Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Dates covered: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc.
Full-text: Yes
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of general reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) covering all subject areas. Easy to search for a word or concept, and also has major topic pages.
Dates covered:: Various
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Credo
Full text: Yes

More Library-subscribed reference works

Journal articles

Journal articles databases

Journals are serial publications where scholars and practitioners share the latest results of their work. Listed below are a selection of journals subscribed by the Library. For issues that are in print format only, you need to go to the Library to retrieve them from the shelves.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
A database for art and architecture researchers. Contains full-text books and articles and detailed abstracts from leading academic, trade and popular publications on art subjects. Coverage of fine, decorative and commercial art and aspects of architecture and architectural design.
Dates covered: Varied
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: EBSCOhost
Full text: Some
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
A database for researchers investigating contemporary and modern artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, and crafts. Contains full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, exhibition reviews and more.
Click here for User Guide

Dates covered: 1960s - Current
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: ProQuest
Full text: Citation information only

Complete list of the Library's visual arts databases

Books

Finding art books in the Library

Apart from looking for books in OneSearch, an important method of discovery for artists is browsing the shelves. This will help you find useful titles that you may not have even thought of looking for!

Use these class numbers for visual arts books to help you browse:

LC Classification ( New Books in English or Chinese Language )
Class number	Subject
N	Visual Arts
NB	Sculpture
NC	Drawing, Design, Illustration, Commercial Arts, Graphics
ND	Painting
NE	Print Media
NK	Decorative Arts, Applied Arts, Decoration and Ornament
NX	Arts in General
TR	Photography

English books
Class number	Subject
069	Museology
700	Arts: Philosophy and theory
730	Sculpture
738	Ceramic arts
740	Drawing
741.5	Cartoons, comics
741.6	Textile arts
748	Glass art
750	Painting
760	Graphic arts
770	Photography

Chinese books

Lai system	CLC system	Subject
069	G26	Museology
477.8	J524.5	Book design
900	J0, J1	Arts: philosophy and theory
903	J-4	Art education
909	J110.9, J120.9	Art history
930	J3	Sculpture
940	J2, J29	Painting and calligraphy
948	J213	Watercolor, oil painting
949	J11	Western art
950	J4	Photography
962	TS88	Lettering
964	J51	Graphic design