|
|
|
All Powerpoint Presentations for the Lunch & Learn sessions are uploaded below under "Workshop Materials" (HKBU email log-in needed). In cases where the Powerpoint Presentations are not available, other relevant resources are provided instead.
| Date | Time | Topic | Workshop Materials | Speaker | Summary |
|
March 13 (Mon)
|
12:30pm - 1:30pm | Say no to fake news: Access New York Times for real global news | Registration Link | Angel Leung (NYTimes) | Tired of fake news? Here is a news resource that provides reliable and authoritative global news. Come and learn about using New York Times to develop global perspectives on world affairs |
| 1:30pm - 2:30pm | Beyond YouTube: Find high-quality online videos for your paper | PPT | Carol So (ProQuest) | Where can you find online videos other than Youtube? Come and learn about the Library's wide-ranging online video collections such as The BBC Video Collection and 60 Minutes | |
|
March 14 (Tue)
|
12:30pm - 1:30pm | Ebook Essentials with EBSCOhost | PPT | Evan Shih (EBOSCO) | Confused about accessing and downloading e-books? Come and learn about this new and improved major e-book platform and its mobile app |
| 1:30pm - 2:30pm | Web of Science: Track Research Development and Discover Trends | PPT | Maggie Lam (Clarivate Analytics, formerly Thomson Reuters) |
This is an introduction to Web of Science, an academic platform that allows you to monitor research development and discover emerging trends via its citation indexes, which are used to track citation activities of leading journals in multiple disciplines. | |
|
March 15 (Wed)
|
12:30pm - 1:30pm | Wisenews慧科新聞：大中華電子新聞資訊專家 | PPT | Corey Luk (Wisers) |
Come and learn about Wisenews, one of the most important resources for newspapers, magazines, journals and newswires from across the Chinese region. 網羅兩岸四地的重點報章、雜誌、刊物、通訊社新聞等媒體來源，內容經篩選和分類，助你進行學術交流與研究。 |
| 1:30pm - 2:30pm | Where to find the "old" stuff: Easily Discover Primary Sources | PPT | Alfred Ng (Cengage Gale) |
What are primary sources? What are digital archives? Check out the Library's rich online collections on historical materials. | |
|
March 16 (Thu)
|
12:30pm - 1:30pm | How to improve your English pronunciation? | Relevant Databases | Andrew Stokes (Clarity Language) | Discuss common pronunciation errors made by Chinese students, and show ways to practice and improve |
| 1:30pm - 2:30pm | 令你難忘的手機閱讀體驗：認識HyRead中文電子書平台 | User Guide | Roy Ching (Hyweb) |
HyRead is a major Chinese e-book platform from Taiwan. Its award-winning mobile app allows you to browse, borrow, and renew e-books easily. HyRead提供各大出版社之學術、專業、休閒及工具書等各類電子書籍, 其得獎客戶端具備借書、還書、續借、預約、註記、畫線、書籤等功能。 |
|
|
March 17 (Fri)
|
12:30pm - 1:30pm | CNKI中國知網: 怎樣有效檢索中文數據庫 | PPT 1 | PPT 2 | 介紹搜索中文數據庫的有效方法，以中國知網為例子。 Come and learn about tips on searching effectively in the major Chinese-language database CNKI. |
| 1:30pm - 2:30pm | Discover Wiley: E-books, E-journals, & E-references | PPT | Glenn Smith (Wiley) |
Come and learn about how to navigate through the Wiley Online Library to discover its journals, books, and references at your fingertips. |
|
Library Home |
Opening Hours |
Contact Information |
Location Map |
Privacy Policy |
Site Map |
Intranet |
| Copyright © 2010-2019. Hong Kong Baptist University Library. All rights reserved. |
