Skip to main content
Hong Kong Baptist University Hong Kong Baptist University Library
 

MUS 7260 Music Research Methods

A guide for MA music students

Examples of annotated bibliography

An annotated bibliography includes a citation and a summary of the article/book being cited.  Its purpose is to provide the source details for future retrieval and a summary of the content so that the reader understands what the content is about. 


Annotated Bibliography Examples

Example 1

Davidson, Hilda Ellis. Roles of the Northern Goddess. London: Routledge, 1998.

Davidson's book provides a thorough examination of the major roles filled by the numerous pagan goddesses of Northern Europe in everyday life, including their roles in hunting, agriculture, domestic arts like weaving, the household, and death. The author discusses relevant archaeological evidence, patterns of symbol and ritual, and previous research. The book includes a number of black and white photographs of relevant artifacts.

*******************************************************************************************************************************************************

Example 2

Lozier, Aniello and Marie Hickerson. 2010. "Predicting the Distribution of Sasquatch in Western North America: Anything Goes With Ecological Niche Modelling." Journal of Biogeography 36 (9): 1623-1627.

This paper critiques the use of Ecological Niche Models (ENM) and species distribution by performing a tongue-in-cheek examination of the distribution of the fictional Sasquatch, based on reports from an online Bigfoot archive. Lozier's paper powerfully demonstrates the issues faced by ENM, when reports come from non-specialists, and highlights key problems with sourcing data from unmediated online environments. The author neglects to compare the reliability of the many wildlife databases with the single Bigfoot database, as well as other key issues, however in closing the paper briefly mentions that many issues lie outside the scope of the short article. Lozier's paper advises professionals in fields using ENM to carefully assess the source of the data on which the model is based, and concludes that the distribution of rare species in particular is often over-reported to misidentification .