A database covering fine art, ArtFacts.Net provides detailed and verified information on artists, exhibitions, and galleries. It has developed its own Artist Ranking Tool, which helps track upcoming trends in the art market.
An image database featuring a wide range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. It covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
Dates covered: Various Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: ITHAKA
Features primary sources related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century. Materials covered include government reports, diplomatic correspondence, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more. Most of the materials come from the national archives of the US and UK, with some items sourced from various church archives.
Dates covered: 1790 - 1949 Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Cengage Gale Full text: Yes
An online platform of historical documents, the Library subscribes to 4 subsets: China Political Reports, 1961-1970; China Political Reports, 1911-1960; Hong Kong Annual Administration Reports, 1841-1941; Shanghai Political & Economic Reports, 1842-1943: British government records from the international city.
Dates covered: 1841 - 1970 Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: East View Information Services Full-text: Yes
A collection of 17 English-language missionary, sinology, and literary periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 1949.
A bibliography that contains printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers a wide range of topics, from the British/French/Dutch in America to natural disasters, religious orders, slavery and more.
Dates covered: 1493 - 1750 Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: EBSCOhost Full text: Citation information only
The Board of Foreign Missions under the Presbyterian Church was established in 1837, signaling the beginning of a worldwide missionary operation. This archive contains records documenting the church’s educational, evangelical, and medical work in China, and ongoing efforts to spread the gospel during the 19th century.
Dates covered: 1837 - 1911 Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Cengage Gale Full text: Yes
A wealth of information about how food shapes and defines people's lives, seen through the eyes of different scholars. It includes a mix of video, ephemera, photographs, archives, and published monographs.
Dates covered: 1914 - 2015 Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Alexander Street Press Full text: Yes
Intelligence documents (e.g. intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments) gathered and translated into English by U.S. field agents collected in different parts of the world through the Foreign Broadcast Information Services.
Provides authoritative information on important global issues in the modern world, integrating news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more. [This database is on trial until 14 July, 2017]
Dates covered: Various Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Cengage Gale Full text: Yes
The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files document American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social and economic developments throughout the world, and this particular collection is on Japanese internal affairs during this turbulent time of history.
Dates covered: 1930 - 1949 Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Cengage Gale Full text: Yes
This renowned newspaper provides a global perspective on world affairs. It has a U.S., International, Chinese, and Spanish edition. This subscription allows you to access nytimes.com and its related apps on desktop and mobile devices. A first-time activation is needed in order to create your personal account for access, which will be reset every 364 days.
Dates covered: 1851 - Current (please note, access to articles from 1923-1980 is limited to five articles per day per user) Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: The New York Times Company Full text: Yes
Provides resources designed for educators, connecting news to specific areas of study. They include curated summary of New York Times articles and suggested topics for class discussions, written by faculty contributors from various universities and colleges. The Library also provides full access to NYTimes.com and its related apps.
Dates covered: Various Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: The New York Times Company Full text: Some
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
Dates covered: Varies Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Centre for Digital Philosophy Full text: Some
A complete digital archive of the Picture Post, the iconic newspaper published in Britain from 1938-1957 that defined the style of photojournalism in the 20th century. It provides snapshots of the daily life of ordinary people, as well as moments of historical importance in domestic and international affairs.
Dates covered: 1938 - 1957 Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Cengage Gale Full text: Yes
Founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India, The Times of India has become a very widely-circulated English daily newspaper. The historical issues of this newspaper will be of interest to scholars studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, and more.
A series of online videos offering academic viewpoints and real-life insights into practices directly applicable to Communication and Media Studies. Content includes Hollywood producer Martin Cohen on film production, Sonia Livingstone on New Media, Joe Turow on Advertising, Barbara Zelizer on Journalism, and Stuart Hall on Representation.
Dates covered: Various Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Sage Publications
Online access to a select group of English, Gujarati, and Bengali newspapers published in India, in the regions of the Subcontinent that now comprise Pakistan, and in Ceylon (now Sri Lanka) during the 19th and early 20th century.
Consisting of U.S. State Department Office files, also known as "Lot Files", this collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of U.S.-Southeast Asia relations, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes.
Dates covered: 1944 - 1958 Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: Cengage Gale Full text: Yes
Global in scope, this archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Focuses chiefly on the 19th and 20th centuries.
Dates covered:: 1775 - 1998
Concurrent users: Unlimited
Provider: Cengage Gale
Full text: Yes
Established in 1902, Ta Kung Pao is the longest-running Chinese-language newspaper. This historical archive provides old issues from Hong Kong, Shanghai, Tianjin, Chongqing, Chongqing Ta Kung Evening Daily, Guilin, and Hankou. Dates covered: 1902 - 1949 Concurrent users: Unlimited Provider: 得泓資訊 Full text: Yes